Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

It’s in felted merino

21 Comments

I am weak.  All those acres of stocking stitch in lace weight yarn on my current project were sending me distracted… it’s a perfect TV/waiting around project, but to sit and knit during the day?? I had to start something else to alternate with it before I went mad!!

A yarn from my collection had been gently calling to me for a while, hinting that it might actually make a nice match for the Windsor Cardi.

This is a single spun, felted New Zealand merino.  It’s a non-commercial product, and I haven’t seen it again since I purchased this lot.  This is a shame as I rather like it, hence the hoarding of the yarn rather than using it!

Being merino, it’s very soft of course.  It’s also lofty and light, and the naturally silvery yarn is very pretty.

I gave a ball to Eric to sniff.  “It’s really sheepy!” he exclaimed.  My favourite scent – the pure lanolin’y goodness of a sheep’s fleece.

I think it will come out quite nicely don’t you think?

And notice – I did a tubular cast-on!  Woo hoo!!  Look at the difference between the ribbing cast-on and the swatch cast-on:

I am much happier with the seamless edge that a tubular cast-on produces.

So my pretty little balls of yarn… let us proceed to become a gorgeous cardigan!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

21 thoughts on “It’s in felted merino

  1. That yarn has such a beautiful soft color to it! It will make a stunning cardi I’m sure. I finished a scarf semi-recently that was made out of slightly felted merino and it was WONDERFUL to work with! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I also learned the tubular cast on this past weekend. It sure does look nice! I ended up undoing mine though since it was circular and was significantly too small and tight. Yours looks much nicer :)

  2. Oh that looks pretty, gray is one of my favouritest colours!
    Do you have any recommended tutorials for learning tubular cast-on?
    At the moment I mostly use cable cast-on to get a smooth edge, only it doesn’t stretch the greatest…

  3. I’ve been putting off learning the tubular cast on, but those results are so beautiful. I even have a project that recommends it.
    And that yarn. It looks so… inviting. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

    • The results are great! I’m so pleased and am quite annoyed I didn’t push myself to learn it earlier as it’s exactly the finishing I want on my garments. It’s dead simple. One just needs to get one’s head around knitting a couple of rows of waste yarn. You could also try Ysolda’s method that another reader recommended – she doesn’t use waste yarn, instead does a provisional cast-on. Personally, I have a dread of provisional cast-ons, but you might prefer it… here’s the link http://ysolda.com/wordpress/pictorial-guides/double-rib-tubular-cast-on/. And that yarn… I can’t believe I was able to hold it in ‘collect’ mode for so long! It is super delicious.

      • Have a look at the video on Ysolda’s page – the Long Tail Tubular Cast On. There’s no provisional cast on needed! That’s my favorite one for setting up 2×2 rib.

        I inevitably discover don’t have waste yarn on hand when I want to tubular cast on so I am a huge fan of the Italian method for 1×1- it is so fast and creates a lovely edge with great tension. http://slowknits.com/2006/07/tubular_caston_without_the_was_1.html

        (Clearly, you have unearthed the geeks with all this talk of casting on and off! :) )

        That yarn is stunning, and I can understand the tendency to hoard… but it looks even more stunning worked up! So squishy and sheepy and lovely.

      • You are a wealth of information on the tubular cast-on! Thank you!! I shall check out those links.

  4. That yarn will make a great Windsor! It looks so soft too. It’ll be great to wear!

  5. It’s a nice color and I know you will like the finished garment! Enjoy

  6. I am ridiculously jealous of you having that gorgeous yarn!! It looks divine, and I’m sure whatever you make with it will be delightfully squishy and comfortable. As for the tubular cast on, I must learn this technique! You’ve sold me on it entirely.

  7. I’m glad I’m not the only person who loves the smell of yarn. What about alpaca, though?

    Both yarn and project look very smart (especially the cast on!) and I’m really looking forward to seeing more progress photos.

    • I can’t say I particularly notice the smell of alpaca. Although there’s a strange scent whenever I wash my alpaca sweaters, so perhaps that’s it? Not quite the same reaction as to wool though!

  8. Hi!
    Have been really curious about the mythral yarn since you wrote the first posts about it…what do you think of making this cardigan in mythral : http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cable-luxe-tunic ??

    Wish you a great day!

  9. I have yarn envy now, that looks gorgeous! I am off to check out all these fab tutorials for that lovely edge…thanks for the tips :-)

  10. Okay, am going to have to try the tubular cast-on, thanks to your entry and the helpful comments from others. :-) It is a lovely edge. And I love Eric’s comment about the smell of the yarn. :-) I enjoy the smell of wool, too. Will have to make a note of sniffing some alpaca next time I’m at our local yarn shop.

  11. I love learning all sorts of different cast-ons and will be blogging soon about a new bind-off method I just learned. I would absolutely hoard that stash of silvery merino, too, but I’m so thrilled that you’ve cast-on the Windsor cardigan. It’s looking beautiful already! Cheers.

  12. I have that cardigan pattern too (in an issue of Knitscene) and have been debating knitting that cardigan or another one that I found in Warm Weather Knits (I think that’s what it was called). But I’m fairly new to lace stitches so it’ll be a challenge even without the tubular cast-on – was the latter hard to do?

    • The tubular cast-on is very simple. I found the video tutorial from Knitting Daily to be especially clear on how to do it – I highly encourage you to watch it! But now that others have linked me to tubular cast-on tutorials that don’t need waste yarn, I think I’ll be trying that next (read the comments below). Knitting four rows of waste yarn is a bit of a drag… The lacework in an entire cardigan can be a challenge when you’re new to it. I messed it up and had to tink back to the beginning of the lace yesterday, but we’re on track now. My suggestion is to do a swatch of a couple of repeats of the pattern. If you find that easy to do, then you’ll be fine. Knitting an entire cardigan in lace is a great way to force yourself to learn it properly. Have fun!!

  13. Oooh that yarn look so beautiful. I totally get that you left it sitting looking pretty instead of knitting it up. It has to be a very special pattern. I think the Windsor is a good choice. Can’t wait to see it finished!
    Want want want that yarn though….. I would mount it on the wall :D

  14. I love Amy’s patterns. She is prolific!

  15. Beautiful yarn! I love the cable shawl from your last post, too. I will have to try the tubular cast-on! It looks fantastic.