Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The flowery teapot

6 Comments

Yesterday, I mentioned I’d show you a teapot cosy that I knitted in half an hour.

This is the finished article.  I knitted the body in half an hour, but then it took me about two hours to get the decoration for it right!

At first, my intention was to knit a plain, non-embellished cosy.  But it looked really boring.

Then, I wanted to put beads on it.  But everything I tried just looked wrong and silly.

Perhaps it’s because I’ve been spoiled by this tea cosy ever since I saw it.  Alice makes the most amazing tea cosies, and she wins my ‘tea cosy queen’ award if ever there was one.  Her tea cosies are as beautiful in person as they are in her photos.

Anyway, I started wondering how a flower might look on the cosy.  So I dug out some crochet flowers I had in a drawer, and played around with how they looked, and this is what I got.

Without really consciously trying, I have ended up making a pared-down version of Alice’s Spring Explosion Cosy.

What makes this cosy special however, is that it actually has some of Alice’s handwork on it!  The petal base to the fuchsia is a gift that Alice made me a while ago.  It was meant to be a brooch, but I am not a great accessory wearer, and it has undeservedly languished in my drawer ever since I received it.  As an embellishment on this cosy however, it will be much admired and appreciated. Thank you again Alice, both for the lovely gift and the inspiration.

The fuchsia is also not my handwork.  I chose it as my “entry ticket” for a guild event I attended.  You wore one to show you had paid to get in.  Aren’t they clever and generous ladies to spend time making beautiful crochet flowers as entry tokens!?  I’ve put it to good use on this cosy – better than stuffed into a drawer I think!

Now we come to why this is a super-fast knit:  The body of this cosy is knitted from 50g of Rowan Big Wool on 10mm needles.  (Any chunky yarn that will knit well on 10mm (US 15) needles is fine – the Big Wool all I had to hand at the time).  You only need to cast on 18 stitches for a 6 cup teapot.  Knit three rows of garter, then stocking stitch for 13cm (5 1/2″)  in total.  After that you decrease evenly over four rows (with alternate rows in between), ending with 3 stitches for the top, which you draw in to finish.  Make two pieces the same, and then sew together leaving holes for the arm and spout.   It almost knitted itself!

I was really surprised it was so quick to finish – my fastest knit ever I think!

Given I probably won’t be able to replicate this result as I’m not a happy crocheter, nor am I much into the art of making fiddly pretty things, I’m now getting all excited about what else I could do using hand-dyed chunky yarn, which could possibly look very nice without any decoration at all…?

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

6 thoughts on “The flowery teapot

  1. I love it! I could easily do the basic part; now all I have to do is learn how to knit roses. :-)

  2. It’s cold enough here to pine for pots of tea (my niece just gave me several lovely little tins of hand-picked teas for Christmas) and I love tea cosies. Yours is so sweet!

  3. I really like the look of that flower with your cozy. The little thread stamens are pretty neat. I wouldn’t have thought of putting together the flower like that.

  4. I’ve got one or two knitting patterns for flowers in amongst my growing collection of knitting magazines, though one of them at least requires felting.
    I do like your tea cosy – the craziest one I’ve seen looks like an elephant, and I reckon the trunk and tail get in the way of the pouring!