Tags

, ,

When Winter finally hit last week with the first frost of the season, I was delighted.  Ah relief!!  I do so love winter.  The fire was roaring, the air crisp and invigorating, I rejoiced in that special misty morning and clear evening light that comes only with the winter cold.  I finally found a use for coats, hats and scarves and gloves again.  Bliss!  It’s warmed up again this week, but the weather will be back, and I can’t wait!

I was a little surprised though when I pulled open a drawer to get out a sweater to wear to work, and realised I had nothing suitable.  Where were my winter sweaters?  Where were my son’s mittens?  Oh yes, that’s right, I’ve spent the summer knitting for other people!  Somehow, I always do this to myself – I seem to think that just because I’m knitting all the time, my drawers will automatically fill up with knitted goodness.  Durrrrh!

Time to be selfish again and knit something warm!

I’ve spent quite a bit of time mulling what to knit, and I’ve come up with these two – a twisted-front sweater top and a Dolman Pullover.  Funnily enough, they were side-by-side in Vogue Knitting’s Winter 2011/12 issue!

I want to knit cables, and chunky things, and delicious lace shawls.  However, they’re not really suitable for work attire.  Sadly.

Having looked at numerous other options, I think those two patterns are a good place to start.  I’m still also contemplating Flaming June.

Both the above patterns have decided they want to be knitted in possum yarns.  I have been trying (very unsuccessfully) to knit some gorgeous charcoal alpaca I’ve had for a while, and I thought the twisted front sweater top would be ideal for it, given the drape required.  But when I swatched the yarn, I realised it did not want to be that.  So possum it is.

Possum, knitted at a loose gauge (which this is) also gives lovely drape.  It will keep my torso warm, and it looks wonderful to boot.

What I really want to knit though, as I said above, is a chunky, snuggly, cardigan.  The kind that I can snuggle into and that will keep me warm all over.  It has to be a cardigan so that I can have it open if it gets too hot, and then close it up to stay warm when I need it.  And it has to be chunky yarn.  It’s just one of those things.

I’ve looked at what feels like thousands of patterns, but I keep coming back to this: Aidez.  I guess that’s good motivation for me to knit up the work wear quickly!

