Kiwiyarns Knits

Story of a wool sweater

17 Comments

From these sheep came the wool…

Image courtesy of Anna Gratton

that made the yarn…

mill spun on the farm on which it was grown…

This is the yarn being wound up for use….

which was knitted into a sweater…

that I will love forever!

Pattern:  Bedford

Ravelry notes:  here

Yarn:  Anna Gratton Little Wool Co. pure wool naturals, 8 ply (DK) in Oatmeal

It’s actually an amazingly cool feeling to work with pure wool New Zealand yarn from sheep who are raised only two hours from where I live, spun in the same place, and now knitted and worn by me.  Warm fuzzies!

Happy Wovember!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

17 thoughts on “Story of a wool sweater

  1. It looks absolutely wonderful on you, it looks absolutely perfect!! The stitch pattern, the length of sleeve and body and I like the higher neckline too, combined with the weight of tthe wool and its colour has turned your Bedford from a happy and satisfying project to this wonderful garment you will no doubt love but also, will wear forever!

  2. That sweater looks so comfy! I’ve been casting on considering something with those same lines over the past week.

  3. It’s wonderful you were able to do a sheep to sweater project! It would be inspiring to see all the steps it takes to move the fibre from fleece to sweater, makes you appreciate the work more. Great job! And the sweater is lovely, too.

  4. Well done! looks great on you. And cool story too.. maybe you can write a children’s book about knitting and wool… hehe

  5. I love how you have gone Sheep to Sweater. It a beautiful knit and it must feel extra good knowing it is all made locally. Just perfect <3

  6. Warm fuzzies alright! It looks great.
    I just love the idea of being so close to the “back to back” process – it must feel very satisfying.

  7. Beautiful sweater!!! It looks amazing, and the wool is gorgeous. I now have to wait patiently until next year when I can afford to buy another sweater lot of yarn, and check out Anna Gratton’s amazing range again. It’s been a while…

    Thanks for sharing the pics, from start to finish ;-)

  8. OMGosh! How cool is that?!
    Found your blog via Andi of My Sister’s Knitter.

  9. So neat :) I love how natural and earthy this simple post is!
    ~Lacey

  10. That’s so awesome. I would love to do a sheep-to-sweater project one day. One day when I’m a much, much better spinner. LOL

  11. I absolutely love everything about this post!

  12. so awesome! lovely story and sweater. i’m visiting from andi!

  13. So how much of the entire fleece went into that sweater?

  14. There is a movement where I live called Fibershed. And what you describe is exactly what Fibershed is about. It’s knowing where your clothing has come from. There is something a little more special about a sweater who’s lineage you can trace.

  15. Oh my gosh – that sweater is beautiful (I have the pattern and yarn to make it – you are inspiring me!). I think it’s wonderful that you can knit with locally produced yarn. I love doing that. Kathy