Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Windsor and the Dolman

17 Comments

It feels funny to be able to bring you two finished objects today.  As things worked out, I finished the Dolman a couple of days ago, but it has taken a while to dry.

I’m particularly taken with the twisted stitch edgings.

The yarn is perfect for a dolman – Little Wool Co. 50/50 mohair merino mix, a DK weight yarn.  Pattern link here.  I used up almost every single metre of 3 hanks of yarn for this project (600g).

And now, finally, a year after I started it(!), is my Windsor.

After I got over my initial lack of enthusiasm for knitting a second sleeve in the round, this project finished very quickly.

It’s very sweet, I think.  Certainly the cardigan I’ve been looking for to go over a summer dress.

Rav link here for mods and pattern details.  I wasn’t sure this project would fit me while I was knitting it.  I thought the proportions might not be that good for me, but now that it’s finished, I’m glad to say it’s all fine!

The yarn is a very beautiful New Zealand felted merino that I got on TradeMe (NZ equiv of eBay) a while ago.  I am not sure if it is still available.  I have tracked something that looks like it down, but have yet to obtain a sample to see if it’s the same thing.  I will let you know how I get on!

Thanks to the eldest son for the photos!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

17 thoughts on “Windsor and the Dolman

  1. oh yr sage garment looks lovely – the yarn perfectly suited to drape… shame we dont have that colour any more but we do have lots other colours still in that yarn :)

  2. They are both lovely! I like the twisted stitch edging too – I had some trouble with twisted stitches recently, but I think it was because I was trying to do it with lace weight wool. Enjoy your new creations! :)

  3. Two finished sweaters! You are on fire. And they both look lovely.

  4. Love your finished garments the colours look really good. It’s very cold over here in England so they would be lovely and warm.

  5. They look great on you. I can’t do dolman sleeves :-(

  6. Both really nice! I feel sure that the cardigan will get a lot of use.
    Bimbi x

  7. I like the twisted edge stitches, too. But that cardigan looks for soft and has a fantastic halo!

  8. Pingback: Blog Week(s) in Review: 10/29- 11/19 « collegeknitting

  9. Those twisted stitch edgings are great.

  10. They both are gorgeous ! Especially the Dolman, the colour matches perfect; you sure look smashing in that one !

  11. OMGosh, terrific job on these projects! The sweater looks like a big warm hug. I’m jealous! I want one. And the cardi is wonderful. You can wear it w/anything.

  12. Two beautiful creations. I love the dolman sleeve jumper and an excellent choice of buttons for the cardigan.

  13. Ooh, that dolman looks so gorgeously cosy! I’m a sucker for a bit of dolman or batwing sleeve :) Such a pretty and unusual edging too.

  14. love both of them and a bit more the second one so classy and feminine, love love it

    • Thank you! The great thing about it is that the pattern is not hard to memorise either. You’d be able to do it with your eyes closed as you are such a good lace knitter!