Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

“Bo” 帛

19 Comments

Variegated yarns are delicious.  Their gorgeous tones and wondrous contrasts excite and delight the eye.  The beautiful colours make the heart beat faster, and bewitch the knitter into a fast exchange of cash for a bundle of squishy, hand-dyed joy.

For me, that’s often where it ends.  The pretty skein sits in my stash looking cute, but never knitted.  It’s very sad.

Why?  Two main reasons:  For the most part it’s the thought of potential pooling that gets me.  Also, I just can’t quite actually deal with wearing a riot of colours in one piece (socks are an exception).  Even fair isle, which I love knitting and love to look of, is reluctantly worn if it contains a lot of colours.  I guess that’s why I adore self-striping yarns, semi-solids, and tweed.  They’re more interesting than plain colour, but less provocative to my “OCD” tendencies when it comes to multiple colours in garments!

However, when I saw this hank of “autumn in a skein” from Anna Gratton (the actual colourway is called Topaz), I had to buy it.  The tones were just too beautiful to resist.  (Reference paragraph one… ahem).  Orange tones are not normally my colour.  But this is an irresistibly beautiful, gloriously rich, true burnt terracotta, autumn leaf orange/brown captured in a magical hank of yarn.  Such a masterful dye job!!

Anna Gratton Silk Wool MohairYou might remember this image:  The way the silk and mohair content caught the light made it look like a glowing ball of embers in the evening sunset.  There is very little I did to alter this image – the silk and mohair content really does catch the light and turn it into something awesome.

GlowI was determined to knit something with this beautiful yarn.   Something that would show off the dyework at its best, and highlight the tweedy look and quality of the silk content.

I started to swatch.

The pattern

Woven

These were a couple of my more successful swatches.  I went with the top one for a beginning concept for my design.

I really like how the linen stitch breaks up the variegation and gives it a more textural, earthy look.  It’s quite a slow stitch though, and also makes the fabric quite dense.  So I decided to break it up with stocking stitch and something in between to give it visual interest and increase the draping quality of the fabric.

Textural silk

It has taken me all summer to finish knitting this design.  I don’t really know why.  But they say that slow and steady wins the race, and indeed, it is done.

Bo

It’s still way too warm for my comfort levels at the moment, so this is how it needs to be worn until Winter finally decides to come play in the Southern hemisphere:Finished

This pattern is called “Bo”.  Bo (帛) is the general reference to silk in the Chinese language (I’ve used Mandarin), and is the predominant fibre in this cowl of Little Wool Company’s 40% Silk/30% Mohair/30% wool blend.  The name is a nod to my Chinese heritage and the origin of silk.

Textured

Deliberately textural, earthy and organic looking, I’m happy with how it has turned out.  I wanted it to look like woven cloth when worn, but not quite woven.  The garter stitch/purl detail on the front of the cowl is reflected in the other side, so that together, the two sides complement each other very well.

It takes just 120g of a 200g hank of Little Wool Co. Silk/Mohair/Merino fingering-weight yarn to knit this cowl.  It’s a very light and airy yarn, so if you are wanting to substitute this yarn be sure to choose something with similar qualities.

The pattern will be ready in about a week.  It’s a simple pattern, and I hope it will bring some of you a bit of knitting pleasure.

This version is being packed off as a gift.  However, I’m going to knit another sample for me.  Perhaps you’ll join me?

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

19 thoughts on ““Bo” 帛

  1. Oh WOW!!! you have done it again…….you have produced the most beautiful garment from the must beautiful Yarn and you are ALSO writing the pattern. I bow my head to you……..yet again my friend. Your work is just “splendishious” indeed!!! Congratulations :) Yes I know the word is splendiferous but this suited me better :)

  2. You have made the perfect pattern for showing off that variegated yarn. I’ve noticed that variegated yarns sit in my stash a bit longer while I contemplate what would show them off the best. Except socks yarns. I don’t mind pooling in socks as much.

  3. Wow ! Stunningly beautiful !
    Though I see your point with variegated yarn, I think this looks really good on you. So good idea to knit a sample for yourself as well :)

  4. I have admired variegated yarn so many times but have not yet succumbed. But this little skein of Autumn is absolutely delicious. I could be tempted.

  5. You are amazing! I want a video to see you knit!!!!! It must be soooooo fast!
    Love your yarn and cowl!
    xoRobin

  6. That’s lovely! I also shy away from too many colours. I love the way you’ve coaxed the colours of the yarn to mix and blend in such a natural looking way with the stitches you used.

  7. That’s a nice cowl. I’m drawn to oranges also.

  8. Beautifully designed and conceived … as always!

  9. Oh that is lovely and I do love how it looks woven! I’ve been waiting to see how this beauty knitted up, I too love looking at the variegated yarn but don’t like how it knits up except for socks. I have the same OCD tendencies or I like to call it good taste as you :-)

  10. Wow, that turned out amazing! I always struggle to use variegated yarns too; very impressive!

  11. Yes it turned out rather well…nice pressie :)
    textured stitches are ideal for breaking up any patterning that may occur in multi coloured yarns – also i find sewing up knitting inside out adds texture ie reverse stst :)

  12. I love how that looks, so tweedy but lustrous and rich-looking!

  13. I’m ordering my skein right now that is gorgeous, thanks for the inspiration.Cheers

  14. I usually feel the same about veriagated but can totally understand why you fell for this skein! Your cowl is gorgeous!

  15. Creative way to break up the pooling. Bonus you end up with a beautiful cowl!

  16. Beautiful yarn and beautiful pattern! Perfect combination.

  17. Just gorgeous! It’s always a challenge to show off those variegated yarns, looks so cozy.