Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

It’s Winter, which means…

8 Comments

The wool fair season continues!  Hurrah!!

If you are in Wellington or visiting around this time, you might like to know about the following dates:

21 June – Social Wool Fair

This is the second year this fair has run.  It’s a mix of stalls for both “new” yarn and the big “destash” event for knitters and crocheters who want to offload yarn they will no longer knit or magazines/books and crafting-related supplies that they will no longer use.  Have a look here and here for more information. Lots of indie people appear to be coming whom I haven’t been aware of before…

This year, the event is being held on  Saturday 21 June, at St Anne’s Hall, Emmet Street, Newtown.  From 10am to 4pm!

2 Aug – Wonders of Wool

This event is so popular that the Wellington Underground Market organisers have put on a second event day!  10am to 4pm at the Wellington Underground Market, Jervois Quay, Wellington Waterfront.

27th/28th Sep and 4th /5th Oct Fashion and Accessories Market

Not strictly a yarn event, but I do know that at least two yarnies who have booked stalls for this feature market at Wellington Underground Market, which is being held during the World of Wearable Art weeks.  Address and time, same as for Wonders of Wool.

Slurpy, slurp!  I had better start saving my pennies!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “It’s Winter, which means…

  1. enjoy!
    …and post some pics for us on the other side of the hemisphere :)

  2. Enjoy, sounds like fun. I have a couple of retreats coming up this summer too.

  3. Every year I wish I was there to partake in the yarn. But this year my stash has exploded, so maybe it is better that I will not be there. I’m looking forward to seeing your posts about the events!

  4. And ours ends…I just went to one of the last of the season…next big one will be Rhinebeck in October…have fun

  5. Eek! I better buy another enormous plastic storage bin!

  6. Check out Creative Fibre NZ for what else is on in Wellington – Upper Hutt Spin In 12 July, Wellington Area Exhibition 12 July – 10 August and Be In The Loop Workshops 2-3 August

  7. Sounds like great events ! Hope you’ll be having grand times !

  8. I wish I could pop over and hang out with you. The appreciation of wool in your country is fantastic.