Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

A day at the beach

2 Comments

Heritage Cardigan at the beach

 

It was a gorgeous day today.  We decided to go to the beach.  

I thought it a good opportunity to also take some photos of my newly completed  awesome Heritage Cardigan.  In case you are wondering, not long after we got there, a stiff Southerly sprang up, and I actually needed to wear it! 

I love the beach.  Every time I go, I am amazed, fascinated and inspired anew at the glorious wonder of colour, texture and detail in nature.  

These chitons are amazing.  

Chiton Glaucus

 

 Look at the detail in close-up! 

Close-up of Chiton Glaucus

 

And the lovely contrasts and tones you can find if one stops to look… 

Seashell on drift wood

 

Paua shell on the beach

 

Delicate seaweed - gorgeous colours for a hand-dyed yarn!

 

Spotted Top Shell Maihi - stitch pattern perhaps?

 

It just takes a cloud to go behind the sun, 

So close to the edge of the world

 

 and come out again… 

Heritage Cardigan back

 

So much visual and tactile stimulation.  No wonder Eric and I come home tired.  But refreshed and energised at the same time. 

I am writing a separate post sharing my technical learnings on the Heritage Cardigan, but for now, I leave you with the view. 

Happy days on the beach

 

Makara Beach, Wellington

 

Enjoy your weekend.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

2 thoughts on “A day at the beach

  1. Thanks for sharing your pretty beach pics – I’ve had my face in a dust mask today sanding and painting the house, so this glimpse is much appreciated!!