Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Verena knits up a storm

4 Comments

I subscribe to four knitting magazines.  In order of “favourites”, they are:

1.  Interweave Knits (top US knitting mag)

2.  Verena Knitting (Burda knitting mag – Europe’s top knit magazine)

3.  Knitting (British mag)

4.  Creative Knitting (the Australian one.  Very, very bad choice.  Will not be subscribing again.  See my post on that subject).

I chose the four because I thought they’d give me a good balance of global views on knitting, and they were all supposedly the best of what you can get from their respective parts of the world. 

Anyhow, this post is about Verena Knitting, and how much I just love the new Spring edition which arrived in my mailbox last week.  Of all the respective magazines I have received recently, this edition wins my top vote, hands-down.  It totally rocks!

I don’t normally like Spring/Summer issues, because I like to knit for cold weather wear.  And the lighter, lacey styles found in the hot weather editions don’t suit my taste.  However, the more I look at this edition, the more I find “must knits!”:

 I couldn’t help think of a knitter I know who loves the peplum when I saw this one.   It’s intriguing, and very elegant.  I would knit it in a dark colour, and probably do something different with the sleeves, but it’s got potential.

Hah!  I’m not the only one who puts lace into sleeves!  It’s very girly, and not my usual thing.  But for sheer prettiness, I like it.

Perfect!  It will be very nice for summer, over a shift, exactly as pictured in the mag.  A little summer knitting can’t hurt…

A good, basic pattern, this one will form the basis of a v-neck I have wanted to knit for a while.  Only I’ll put little cables into, and lengthen the welt a tad, to liven it up and maybe shape it a bit more.  And instead of silk, I’ll do it in a delicious natural chocolate wool.

Pretty, pretty, pretty!  For me, I think the neckline needs to be made higher.  It looks very draughty like that.  But the bell-sleeves and the general shaping of the garment is lovely!  My sister will like this one very much, and I finally have something for that kidsilk that’s sitting in my stash. 

Yummy!  I can see me in that.

This tabard was all the rage last summer.  I expect this shape will keep its value for the incoming season too.  A good fashion pattern.

Such an interesting detail in the drooping ‘pockets’ at the side. It’s supposed to be knitted in linen, which would make it very drapey, but I’m thinking winter weight (can’t get my mind off the woolies) and alpaca.

I have a similar pullover in my wardrobe that is good for chilly summer days, and have wanted to knit another.  This is looking a likely candidate.

Yay!  Next project for my son!

The next pullover for my niece.  The flowers are beautiful, but my embroidery skills leave much to be desired.  I’d probably keep it plain.

Thanks, Verena.  A nice vest for my son.

If you’re thinking I’ve just shown you the whole magazine, you are wrong. There are an astounding 71 patterns in this issue!  AND, *squeak*, you also get 10 bonus online patterns as a subscriber. 

I will be referring back to this issue again and again, as there is such a broad spectrum of patterns in it, that I’ll be able to find projects to suit quite a few friends and family. 

I like my magazines to provide learning and be useful.  This magazine makes good reading.  Over the next few weeks I will be slowly digesting the contents, drooling over each and every pattern, reading about the various techniques used and knitting them in my head, learning new things.  The favourites will become projects.

Each pattern has good schematics, so it will be easy to make modifications if I want.

Knitting these patterns, I’m going to learn the following techniques which are still new to me:

– Double stranded long-tail cast on (I always use long-tail now, but double stranded is new)

– Tubular cast on

There is also an extremely helpful tutorial on the various ways to decrease.  Although I know how to do them, I haven’t fully understood what the effect of each stitch is.  The tutorial covers right slanting decreases, left slanting decreases, (including SSK improved), double decreases and full-fashioned decreases.  Which will help my technique even more!

Thanks again, Verena Knitting, for such a wonderful issue!

I feel like the cat who got the cream.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

4 thoughts on “Verena knits up a storm

  1. I’m a big fan of Verena Knitting too! The designs are generally fashionable, interesting and wearable. They are quite specific with technique details like which decrease to use, and I like the way they cater for plus sizes too.
    There’s usually a few things in each issue that I would knit, and I can see you are probably going to be pretty busy with this issue!

  2. I don’t think I have ever heard of Verena, but their patterns are so clean and pretty! They remind me a lot of DROPS patterns, just clean, basic, and simple lines. The stripy one with the really low neckline is prolly my favorite.

    Thank you for sharing!

    • Thank you! I do hope you manage to track down a copy at some point – it’s a fabulous magazine. You’re right about the similarity to DROPS. I think it’s the Northern European flavour.