Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

60 hours

8 Comments

60 hours in the same vomit-covered clothes. 60 hours without a shower, a toothbrush, a decent meal (not that I really wanted one), or unbroken sleep. 60 hours of stomach-churning worry.

We came home from hospital this evening; me exhausted, dirty, barely human.

But thankfully Eric is now asthma free, and back to his usual bouncy self. I am eternally grateful to the wonderful doctors and nurses at the After Hours Medical Centre and the Wellington Hospital who first treated him, and then nursed him back to health.  He’s happily snoring now, glad of his own bed.

It’s a very scary thing to find your child suddenly in a life-threatening condition. Even worse when it takes you by surprise.  It’s a good thing I take my knitting with me wherever I go.  There was nothing better to help calm the nerves and still the mind. 

During hospital time, I finished knitting the pieces for the baby sweater and the kid’s jacket. All I have to do now is join the respective bits up! Post with pictures to follow.

At this rate, I’m going to have to cast-on for the Garden Jumper in a smaller size. Between the recent house move, health emergencies and giving up drinking, my own jumpers are beginning to take on the look of knitted body sacks.  I like them baggy, but not that baggy.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “60 hours

  1. I’m so sorry about Eric’s asthma! My grandson who is the same age is going through that and it’s very scary. So thankful for knitting at times like that!

    • Thanks for your sympathy. I’m sorry to hear that your grandson is experiencing the same thing. Asthma is so scary. It’s the fact that it’s still a killer condition that I find most frightening.

  2. It sounds like you’ve had quite a rough week. Glad your son is okay. I love the way you knit through anything. Have a great week ahead 🙂

  3. I’m sorry to hear of your worrying time, and glad things are back to norm. I don’t think I would have coped without something in my fingers either!

    • Thank you for your sympathy. 🙂 I thought I’d have seen more people knitting in hospital!. The nurses assured me their mums all knitted, and they told me they really appreciated the knitted donations they got for the prem babies at the hospital. There are a lot of older women who no longer have tiny grandchildren to knit for, who very lovingly knit up pure wool garments and blankets for newborn babies. Would have been nice to hear of/see more younger generation women knitting though.

      By the way, I just LOVE the suit you showed in your most recent post. You are one very talented designer! I don’t seem to be able to enter a comment on your blog for some reason, so thought I’d mention in here. 🙂

      • Thanks for letting me know about the comments – I did adjust some settings because I got a freaky offensive comment from an anonymous person! I’ve just changed it back so hopefully no more problems!

      • Poor you! As you say, hopefully no more issues going forward.