Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

A date with cables and lace

8 Comments

So. I’m supposed to be knitting my daughter’s shrug (yes daughter, don’t worry, I’m still knitting it), and I’m also knitting this interesting cabled baby’s sweater. 

Daughter’s shrug is pretty.  But I’ve finished with the detailed bit and now it’s a straight stocking stitch.  Which to a knitter is the equivalent of writing lines (unless you want something to knit mindlessly while watching TV, for example).

The cabled cotton has been challenging.  My dislike of knitting with 100% cotton is sealed.  I’ve learned that with cotton, I need to pull each stitch as tight as possible to maintain an even stitch tension.  And after a cable, especially so to avoid overly loose, stretchy stitches on the side of the cable.  But in future, if I need cotton, I think I’ll find a friendly yarn to play with that isn’t splitty and inclined to pouty behaviour on the needles.  Such as Zealana’s Kiwi

But as this project draws to a close, my knitting brain has become a bit anxious about what I’m going to start next… (hmm.  This is a worry.  Am I an official Knitting Addict?)  I need some relief from pure stocking stitch!

You may recall a while ago I was raving about a beautiful design I’d seen in the Fall issue of Vogue Knitting:

At the time, I mentioned that Knitsch’s Silver Lining looked like the right substitute for the fingering-weight Koigu specified in the pattern.  And just the other day, it just so happened that a large quantity became available at my LYS after the customer who ordered it decided she didn’t want it any more (the Goddess of Knitting heard my prayers)!  My fate was sealed.

Last night, after dutifully finishing the sleeve of the baby’s sweater, and starting the second ball of my daughter’s shrug, I decided I had earned a little play time and knitted my swatch:

Isn’t it purty??  I’m dribbling… can’t wait to cast on properly…!!!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “A date with cables and lace

  1. oh. my. goodness. that is going to be gorgeous! Can’t wait to see it progress!

    • I’m glad you like my choice of yarn. 😉 I can’t wait to cast on too!! I’m sooo excited! It’s providing great incentive to finish that baby sweater as soon as possible.

  2. hummm, your silver lining is so beautiful
    i knew that NZ merino yarn is wonderful..

    • I love it too. 🙂 The nice thing about this yarn is that it is also machine washable, and super-twisted so that it will be strong and not pill.

  3. Its gorgeous!

  4. Nice. Once day I too will try working with cables and lace, though maybe not at the same time.

  5. Beautiful swatch! That’s going to knit up wonderfully, can’t wait to see it 🙂