Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Questionable sanity

5 Comments

A community fund raising event is coming up on 14 November, and in a moment of lapsed sanity, I decided to participate.

I thought, “I’ll make little toys.  They’ll be quick to make, and with Christmas coming up, they should sell well as stocking stuffers and Christmas presents.  They would also be a good opportunity for me to use up my odds and ends of New Zealand yarn.  If I knit one or two a day, I’ll have plenty to contribute.”  So I made two of these:

But Eric decided they were soooo cute that he wanted them.  OK.  There’s plenty of time.  I have a month…

Then I made this:

And Eric wanted him too!

Man.  This was getting me nowhere fast.  Eric, no more toys!  And time to ramp up the volume:

These guys are seriously cute.  I want them!

However, after having got through all that, plus a couple of others I haven’t bothered showing you, I decided toys were getting boring.   I needed a change.

I decided to experiment with hats.  Over the year, I’ve somehow managed to acquire a few hat-quantity amounts of Patons Jet, an alpaca/wool mix.  The colours are so fun, and great for a cheerful hat.  Time to knit them up!

I’ve also finally found a use for the Naturally Sensation yarn that I bought a massive quantity of in a past Knit World sale.  The fluffy angora merino mix makes a great slouchy beanie!  The pattern is one I made up, and it’s come out rather nicely.  I’ll put up the free pattern for it soon. 

A funny thing has happened though.  I have discovered I really like making hats.  They’re like the lollies of knitting – quick gratification, easy to do, lots of styles to experiment with.  I’m in love with my current WIP:

This one is The Wool Company’s Merino Possum (navy) and Zealana’s Rimu (natural). 

I’ll go back to toys next week.

I’m starting to wonder whether this little endeavour is going to be a bit like running a marathon.  But what the heck… I need a challenge.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

5 thoughts on “Questionable sanity

  1. WOW! The toys are fantastic – don’t blame Eric, Ashlee would want them too. How about making a possum? It would be appropiate.
    Karyn

    • Thanks. 🙂 A possum’s a great idea! I was starting to think about native animals, but given I have possum yarn, and was wanting to use it to make a toy, making a possum is an obvious choice isn’t it!?

  2. Yeah they’re pretty cute alright. If you can just make a few in secret, I’m sure some of the fair-goer’s kids will have no trouble talking their parents into buying ’em.

  3. Those toys are cute! The hats look soo cosy too.