Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Free pattern – Rivulet hat

4 Comments

My alpaca obsession reach fever pitch last week.  It culminated in the creation of this hat, which I’m very happy with.  I’ve called it the Rivulet hat, because I knitted it to reflect alpaca’s tumbling drape, which in turn resembles running water, like the small streams that thread through the land I live on.

If you’d like to knit one yourself, here are the instructions –  Free pattern – Rivulet hat.  As knitted, it takes 70g of a 100g hank of Flagstaff Alpaca‘s hand-dyed 100% alpaca in 8 ply (DK).  I adore this colourway.  It’s called Wild Rice.  It never fails to make my heart skip a beat every time I see and squish it.

And the pattern has created perfect stripes, which swirl so prettily at the hat’s crown…

As alpaca has a tendency to stretch, I’ve knitted this hat fitted, or snug, to help avoid the issue.  The cables and slightly smaller needle (3.5mm) should also make sure this hat continues to look great and stay in shape during the course of its lifespan.  Twisted cables help the pattern to ‘pop’ and enhances the winding river pattern.

The cables also make it a deliciously warm, double-layer hat.  Which was just what I needed when that freezing Southerly roared through Wellington this weekend!

Have fun knitting this!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

4 thoughts on “Free pattern – Rivulet hat

  1. It’s so pretty! It’s like one of those swirly shells you get that are kind of periwinkle but not… In case you couldn’t tell, I like the swirls 🙂

  2. Those hats look great on you. I think that means you have a face for beanies or something.