Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

It’s a Knitty New Year

7 Comments

I don’t think there are many of us who can say we had a fantastic year in 2010.  Although it has certainly been an interesting one in many respects.

On a personal level, the happenings of the last few days of this year portent much better conditions for 2011.  I do hope the same for everyone.

The wedding was lovely.  My sister looked so beautiful, and so happy.  Everyone was very happy.

I got yarn!  It was great… :0

My children arrived for their Christmas break.  I’m ecstatic to have them with me again. We drove back to Wellington.  I got sick.  I could do nothing but lie on the sofa.  I felt like death.  I did not knit for two days; that’s a record.

Then it was Christmas.  The children loved their presents.  Santa remembered I like yarn. Debbie Bliss Donegal Luxury Tweed.  🙂

I got my knitting mojo back and ignored the annoying, horrid, red glove.  Instead, I focused on finishing my daughter’s shrug/scarf.

She likes it!

I designed it based on her specifications which I wrote about here a while ago.  I like the details:

It’s in Shepherd Baby Wool Merino, a 4 ply (fingering) yarn.  She thoroughly approves the lack of itch and its pretty softness.  Phew!  Something that she likes.  At last.

Then I decided to tackle the annoying, horrid, red glove again.  It fought me all the way. But now it’s done.

I’m only aggrieved it took so long to knit a pair.  It’s not a joke to have to knit the equivalent of six separate gloves to get a pair that match.  But, they are very pretty and my friend had.better.like.them!

I’m very pleased I’ve managed to finish these last two projects though.  They’ve been particularly challenging to complete on various levels.  Now I have a clean slate to start the new year with other projects that have started banking up because of the delay caused by my difficulty in getting these gloves out.

I still like the yarn (The Wool Co. possum merino), even though the project drove me to distraction.  So much so that I got more yarn to make myself something in it next winter. Although it won’t be gloves.

I hope you had a lovely holiday break and that your year-end preparations are going well.

All the best for a happy, knitty new year.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

7 thoughts on “It’s a Knitty New Year

  1. Glad the wedding went well and you’re on to new knitty adventures! Love the idea of the scarf/shrug – how versatile is that? My red possum wool has winged its way to US but not yet in my itchy little hands – those gloves are JUST gorgeous and hopefully that little yarn demon won’t have followed over here!!

  2. Eventful is certainly the word for 2010! I will be very glad to usher it out on Friday. The gloves are gorgeous and worth the frustration in the long run. I had a similar experience trying to knit a matching pair of cabled celtic socks for my son’s Scottish wedding. I have a drawer full of single stockings – why didn’t I think to hang them for Christmas?!

    • I’ll be joining you in the celebrations! I feel for you with those stockings. You are right it was worth the effort, but what an effort!!! Happy New Year!

  3. well… the gloves look stunning on you, they suit you perfectly, so the winter garment you make from the same yarn will be fab!
    Ooh… projects banking up…. I felt a glimmer of excitement at the potential!
    Love your daughter’s vest, it looks perfect on her! Great design… I’ve never done anything in 4ply, I fear it will take far too long and I’ll get sick of it!
    Have a very blessed end of 2010 and beginning of 2011
    XXX

  4. I love the shrug/scarf idea! Very versatile. The gloves are magnificent. I’ll be happy to send you my address if your friend doesn’t like them! (I’m not holding my breath, who wouldn’t love them?) I am looking forward to 2011! Happy New Year. Kathy in Ohio

  5. After all that work I don’t know how you will be able to bear to part with your gorgeous gloves – they truly are something special. I plan to try your pattern to create some for my daughter when I have finished the other projects I am doing and have lined up. I love the extra length and the cables on them. A fabulous pattern all round.

    Have a very Happy New Year and may 2011 be a good one for you!

    • Thanks for the lovely comment! They are pretty gloves aren’t they? When I get my ‘mojo’ for gloves back, perhaps I will try something similar again for me. I’ll write up the pattern over the next week or two so that you can reference it once you’re ready to knit some. A Happy New Year to you too. 🙂