Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Inspiration

3 Comments

Last year, I received this stitch marker as part of a swap:

It ended up being my favourite stitch marker – it didn’t snag, and it was light, and sooo pretty in my knitting!!  To the point that I decided I needed more than one.

Examining it closely, I realised I could make my own.  I have a pretty stash of beads from when beading was my thing, so I made these:

I rather liked them.  I got a bit carried away:

Hahahahaha!  I’ll never be without a pretty stitch marker again!

Isn’t it amazing what one small gesture can do?

To say thank you, I sent a few to the lovely reader who sent me the original and who has now become a good knitting friend.  Thanks again, kb!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

3 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Ooh! they are pretty! And nice to do something different for an afternoon! I may need to follow your lead and set my sparkly beads on a stitch marking mission!
    I hope you’re having a happy new year! I’m heading up north next week and stopping at Utiku…. ooooh! i’m soooooooooooooooo excited!
    Have a lovely day!

    • You are such a talented creator that I’m sure your own stitch marker-making experimentation will produce something very pretty indeed! Have a fabulous time at The Wool Company – you’ll find something to take away! 😉

  2. I love the stitch markers – very pretty. Way nicer to use than the tiny safety pins that I have been – till I recently received come pretty ones too.