Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

A year of blogging

8 Comments

This month marks the first anniversary of this blog (and my adventure into the world of blogging).  And I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you.  Each and every one of you who read my writing, and for all your kind comments and support.

It’s a funny thing.  When I started this blog, I just wanted an outlet to share all the information that was swirling around in my head about New Zealand yarns.  As I say in my page “About Me”, I also hoped that this blog would help create a community of sorts, and become a way for me to interact with like-minded people.   And surprisingly, it has!

In fact, this blog has brought more to me than I ever imagined.

A year ago, I had no idea that I’d be enduring the longest period of under-employment in my life since leaving school, and all that comes with the lack of financial resources and self-esteem that until now, I had largely taken for granted as a manager in a well-paid corporate position.

I had no idea that I’d also have the courage to start sharing my designs for items that I knitted, and that people might actually like them!  I had no idea that people would like what I wrote enough to keep coming back!

This blog has given me a focus, and something to concentrate on and an outlet to use my skills in what has been a very frustrating year.

As well as achieving the goals I mention above, this blog has also provided me with learning opportunities in my line of work (marketing) that I didn’t imagine I’d have.

Most importantly, I’ve found real friendships with people who share the same interests as me, and who don’t call me mad, or look askance like what happens when I forget for a moment that I’m talking to a non-knitter.  So thank you, every one of you.  You’ve been a bright light in a somewhat dim year.

I remember the first time my stats recorded 800 hits in a day.  I nearly died.  It gave me such a high – to think that many people would be interested in the information I put out there! Wow.

And the first time someone wrote back to me with a really substantial comment that has resulted in a correspondence across vast distances that I think, gives us both fun and friendship in our shared love of YARN and knitting.  (Dear friend, you know I’m talking about you).

And the first time a yarn company wrote to me, and told me that they really liked what I was doing for their brand.  Success!!!!  After all, this blog is mostly a one-woman campaign to raise global brand-awareness of New Zealand knitting yarns.

Outside of this blog, it hasn’t been all ‘doom and gloom’.  For the first time in a parenthood spanning 17 years, I’ve been able to spend as much time as I’ve wanted (and more!) with at least one child.  And when my other two visited from Hong Kong this Christmas holiday, they actually got to spend every single day with me.  For the first time in their lives, I didn’t have to go back to the office for that ‘one last job’.  They really liked that.

I also got to move to a rural environment that I have to say I truly love.  I really don’t want to live in a suburb ever again.  Whether that happens remains to be seen – there are possible changes coming later in the year that may mean I’ll have to (reluctantly) move back into the city.  At least one good thing will be that I’ll have access to broadband again.

And finally, the unexpected “time-out” has given me time to reset.  In a life where I’ve mostly worked in a fast paced environment with over-achievers, I came to expect that much of everyone I met.  My move to New Zealand didn’t change that expectation because I went to work in the same industry.  I didn’t really stop to think that not everyone has a high IQ.  Nor that not everyone necessarily knew how to work at an extremely high level.  I admit it made me a difficult person to work with at times.  I think I’ve since learned how to better cope with less-than-ideal conditions (unfulfilled expectations) and relate to people at more levels.  I could do with a bit more working at it, but I think I’m getting better.

It has been an interesting year.  On some levels, quite fulfilling.  On other levels, fairly nasty.  But on balance, interesting.  I’m glad you’ve come along for the ride.  It’s been nice to have you. 🙂

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “A year of blogging

  1. Congratualtions. I’ve been following your blog for the last few months from Korea where I’ve been working.
    I’m a born-again knitter and really love to see and read about what others are doing.
    Now back in New Zealand I’m excited to be able to now find some of the yarn suppliers you have mentioned.
    Hope this year goes well with your two aims.

  2. The time you have been able to spend with your children is priceless. You knitting is fantastic and it is so nice to read blogs, as I find they are so full on NORMAL people, people who understand each other.

    Happy 1st Anniversary.

    Colette, UK

  3. What a heartfelt post…. as I was reading it I was wondering what it would be like reading it if I didn’t know you, as we all are so different on the inside compared to the outside that we put out into the world…
    Happy blogiversary, I’m glad you are finding it so therapeutic and good for you in such a tough year, it sounds like you have been through some quite intense times…. thank goodness for such an amazing outlet! And I’m sure you will be a master knitter in no time….
    oh and as for a part time job, Lana has been asking me about teaching a knitting class… I sadi nooooooooooooooooooo!!! As if! Then I said she should hassle you into taking one….. sounds like a part time job to me?!
    :O)

  4. Happy blogiversary!
    I haven’t done much knitting since summer (which apparently is normal for knitters of the non-obssessed variety), and it doesn’t help that I’m limited to yarns that don’t make me want to scratch my skin off, but come autumn I know I’ll be reaching for my knitting needles and hoping to get that tension right for once.

  5. I’ve truly enjoyed reading your blog posts over the last year! The yarn guide to the North Island was extremely helpful in finding several wool shops when I visited New Zealand in September. I look forward to all your posts in the coming months!

  6. hmmm, just spotted this post. Amazing how the time flies, I’m glad you’ve persevered, I love the way you write and the inspiring projects you post.