Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

A winter sweater

4 Comments

You may remember I recently introduced you to the beginnings of my Saxon Braid Big Sack Sweater.  I’ve eyed the pattern for a long time, but we don’t have a lot of chunky yarn in New Zealand, and I had not been able to find a yarn I liked to knit it in.  But here it is, all done:

I’m very happy with how it’s turned out.

This morning was lovely and cool, so I took it for a little trial run:

Yes, it will do nicely.

The yarn is a one-off 50/50 merino alpaca, spun by Woolyarns and sold at Knit World. It’s a chunky weight and is going to be soooo snuggly in winter.

The pattern “Big Sack Sweater” is from Stitch’n’Bitch:  The Knitter’s Handbook, but I changed the cable to make it more interesting for me.

This sweater has very long sleeves which is great!  I normally find that I have to lengthen my sleeves in a project, but this one is perfect.  No cold wrists!  The cowl is another happy moment too.  It’s just the right length and drapes so well.  I guess I chose the right yarn to match the pattern!

Having now knitted it, I’ve thought of another great New Zealand yarn that would do fantastically in this pattern – Zealana’s Tui.  Maybe I should knit another one in another colour….!?

Thank you, Jenna Wilson, for a lovely pattern.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

4 thoughts on “A winter sweater

  1. That is quite the sweater. The cable is gorgeous and so warm looking. It fits you perfectly and the color is really lovely. Seems like you whipped that up fast!! You must be a very fast knitter! I looked at the other yarn and that pink is really beautiful. Loved seeing your finished piece. Superb job!! xoRobin❤

    • Yes, now that I’ve thought of it, I really want to make another in Zealana Tui!! It was a fast knit – big needles (6mm) and apart from the front cable, the rest of it was stocking stitch. Thanks for the kind comment. 🙂

  2. Oh yes, Zelana Tui would be lovely to knit a jumper with… and not too expensive! ;OP
    Yes, I said it on Rav and I’ll say it here too, the jumper is beautiful, well done!

  3. What a fantastic jumper – wonderful job. The colour is gorgeous and the cable is very eye-catching