Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Wooper

6 Comments

Many of you dear readers will know by now that my little boy is a great fan of knitted soft toys (plushies).  Especially ones that have anything to do with Pokémon.  So imagine my delight when researching Pokémon toys on Ravelry to stumble across the wonderful Alyssa, who creates amazing amigurumi knitting and crochet patterns!

And this is what Eric chose and asked me to knit at speed:

It’s a free pattern, and written in a very innovative way – you almost need to do no sewing up at all as it’s pretty much knitted in one.  I’ve been used to having to knit all the pieces and then sew them up one by one… it’s rather painstaking.  So this was a refreshing change!

I am afraid I did not do a perfect job with the duplicate stitch on the tummy, but he doesn’t seem to mind, and Wooper was duly taken to school today for a show-and-tell.

Knitted in The Wool Company‘s 100% Perendale 8 ply yarn in Aqua and Cyclamen.

Thanks once again, Alyssa!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

6 thoughts on “Wooper

  1. very cute!!!
    I want to see your pile of sock yarn… I’ll show you mine if you show me yours ;O)
    I’m going to do a post next week with my sock stash! (its not very big yet, definitely needs additions)
    XXX

  2. That is adorable! I love the little arms! I was into pokemon when I was younger 🙂

  3. Too cute! I had better not show my boys this one 🙂 Meant to say I love your latest cardigan. I have some buttons like that saved from a sweater my dad used to wear, just waiting for the right project!

    • Haha! If your boys are anything like mine, you have to be careful of what you look at when they’re around! Eric spies cute things in a mili-second. “What was that you were looking at? Go back – I want to see!” [Sigh – caught out again!] I love your headband BTW – very nice! I haven’t tried entrelac yet. Maybe one of these days.

  4. What a super little knit, most of the patterns for cute small toys are crochet, it’s nice to see one that’s knitted……definately my preferred medium………..lucky little boy!
    lily x

  5. I can see why a little boy would love this Wooper! You truly did a quick job, your knitting needles must have been flying! Lucky Eric, what a great show and tell. Have a great weekend. xoRobin❤