Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Frank Kitts Market, 14 May

7 Comments

This Saturday, 14 May marks a special day.  It’s the Frank Kitts Market “Wonders of Wool” focus market day.  And it’s the 50th birthday of Flagstaff Alpaca’s Andy Nailard. Happy Birthday Andy!!

I didn’t know it was Andy’s birthday until recently, when I asked him if he was going to come up to Wellington to give us all a treat with his hand-dyed alpaca yarn at the Frank Kitts Market “Wonders of Wool” market day.  He said no.  Because it was his birthday that day and a bit of a bash had been arranged.  I suppose that is a good enough reason.  She thought disappointedly.

Not to be outdone of this fabulous opportunity for Wellington folk to touch and see Flagstaff Alpaca yarn for themselves, I asked if perhaps I could run a one-off stall for him.  And he said yes! Oh happy days!

And look at what I got in the post…

This is just some of it.  You’ll just have to come along on the day to see more… that’s if I can stop myself from just putting it all straight into my stash!

I understand that Knitsch, Fibre Alive and Maude & Me, along with others, will also be there with their own yarns of gorgeousness, so for an opportunity to view (and purchase!) a great collection of New Zealand indie yarns and fibre all in one place, you simply can’t miss the day!

Frank Kitts Market, Frank Kitts Park, Wellington waterfront.  Saturday, 14 May.  From 10am to 4pm.  Be there if you can!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

7 thoughts on “Frank Kitts Market, 14 May

  1. ooooooooooooooh is that pink stuff on the top sock yarn>>!!

    • Sadly, no. But I think we should drop Andy and Doe a very large hint that pretty pink sock yarn would be much appreciated…!

  2. It will be hard to let those beautiful jewels out your door

  3. I really want to go even if I can’t wear wool!

  4. Oooh that yarn is so pretty! I’ve not bought much yarn recently (I’m trying to work through my stash) but I’m not sure I can leave it much longer! I’d also love to come along to the market, but I think traveling to the other side of the world would be a bit tricky…. 😉 xx

  5. OMG!!!
    I want a delivery like that too!!!!!!!!!!!!