Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The beauty of lace

15 Comments

I had to work today so my daughter kindly took these photographs of the two lace scarves I finished this week.  She’s done a fabulous job!

This is Andy.  My own design, using Flagstaff Alpaca’s DK weight 100% alpaca:

It’s called Andy in honour of Andy Nailard, the owner of Flagstaff Alpacas.

It’s knitted in the Lavender Prism colourway, on 4.5mm needles.  I’ll release the free pattern soon – just have to write it up.

Also, I finished version two of the Garden City Scarf:

Don’t you think the DK weight yarn makes the lace that much more defined?

There’s something quite magical about lace.  It makes my heart leap.  One of the great things about this pattern is that it’s so simple and quick to knit.

Yarn:  Treliske Organic DK/8 ply, 100% merino in natural cream.

Tomorrow, I bring you news of a new New Zealand yarn that has just been released… it’s very, very exciting.  Shhhhh!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

15 thoughts on “The beauty of lace

  1. gorgeous as always…

  2. Hi there, Just love the scarves. Wow, your own design, that is very impressive. Can’t wait for the pattern. And I love the cream lace scarf, so delicate in the DK. Great work and your daughter did a wonderful job with the photos.
    Hapoy weekend! xoRobin❤

  3. Your knitting is always so beautiful and your yarn choices perfect, I will look forward to your lovely scarf pattern, the scarf would make a gorgeous Christmas gift……………….a bit previous perhaps, but you can never start too early for making Christmas gifts.

    Have a wonderful summer, lily x

  4. The scarves are so wonderful! They look so warm and elegant 🙂 I love working a lace pattern! It is such a rewarding feeling. I can’t wait for the new pattern! 🙂

  5. Beautiful photos! Beautiful scarves! 🙂

  6. Beautiful work and beautiful backdrop!

  7. Let your daughter know that her pictures are amazing. The first photo of the Garden City Scarf in particular stands out. It could easily be in a knitting magazine. I think you should see if the designer would like to use the photo to promote the scarf. It is that lovely.

  8. Okay so eenie, meenie, minie mo for me now to try and choose from. Both are just gorgeous:-)

  9. Your daughter did a great job with the photos and you did a fantastic job with both the projects

  10. Those are gorgeous! I especially like the second one and I’m not a huge fan of white, but it’s so pretty….and wow! I’d love to live near you!

  11. Meant to add…made me want to pop in a LOTR or Xena video to see some more of the landscape…

  12. These are beautiful! I love the point on the Andy scarf 🙂

  13. Pingback: knitting.jasonneo.com » Blog Archive » The Blue Danube Hood and Scarf | Kiwiyarns Knits

  14. Oh my…I love that garden city scarf!!! Gorgeous! 🙂