Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Inspiration: Day’s eye hat

12 Comments

Lately, I’ve been seeing a lot of beautiful cabled/twisted-stitch berets/hats that end in a star at the crown.  I think they’re stunning, and I’ve decided I want one.  Especially now we’re having a few cold days, and I’m rather bored of all my current hats.

I trawled Ravelry, Knitty and all the usual knitting sites, looking at this and then that.  But nothing was quite right.

Then it happened that I was reading Kristen Hanley Cardozo’s blog Knitting Kninja. Kristen is a very talented designer, and I really like her feminine designs.

I noticed that she had.knitted.a.hat.  It was a beautiful hat, and it was the hat I wanted.

It’s called Day’s Eye Hat, and Kristen has very generously made it a free pattern.  It’s done using twisted stitches, which means you don’t need a cable needle to knit it.  Very handy.  The original hat is knitted in Malabrigo worsted which we can now relatively easily obtain in this country.  It’s very soft, and very gorgeous.  The colours are so very pretty.  But as you will know if you’ve spent some time reading my blog, I like to support the budding New Zealand yarn industry.

What could I use instead?  Well… let’s see… what’s soft, and 10 ply (worsted), and has a nice squooshiness and drape to it that would be perfect in a slouchy hat?

This post should probably be called “So inspiring I had to knit it NOW!” because I decided I had to knit this one.  Now.

I felt a little sheepish starting something new when I already had so much on the go. My excuse was that this would be a nice little mental relief project – something simple to do against the designing and more complicated knitting I’m doing.  A little bit of a chocolate snack, should we say.

In my experience, chocolate tends to get consumed without one noticing.  One minute it’s there, and the next it’s gone.  Dissolved, evaporated, vanished!  Someone else (surely!) ate it while you weren’t looking!

And so it is, that for “some reason”, I find myself in need of another quick project to take with me for ‘on the go’ knitting.  Because this one got done in two days.  Doh.

One and a half balls of Zealana Heron in the a light blue denim, shade H01.  Size 5mm needles.

It’s blocking prettily while I wait impatiently to wear it.  More photos to follow!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “Inspiration: Day’s eye hat

  1. wow – so many knitting projects, so little knitting time…!

  2. it’s stunning! I love hats with the star in the centre too, they are just amazing and this will look perfect on you!

  3. Your hat turned out gorgeous! I know what you mean about a quick little feel good project 🙂 It is so gratifying to finish a project, especially when you are in the midst of multiple pending projects.

  4. That is such a pretty hat! I can’t believe it only took you 2 days, you speed demon! 🙂

  5. That is so pretty and looks so intricate

  6. Stunning hat! I love it 🙂 And so quick!

  7. A whole two days? I don’t think you enjoyed knitting it enough 🙂

  8. Hi! Beautiful beret! Have visited your site before, when I was staying with my sister in Auckland in feb-march and was searching for NZ suppliers of undyed merino yarn in hanks… Maybe you know about my sister – Happy-go-knitty ?

    Love from Sweden!

    • I hope you managed to find those hanks of yarn? There was a lady who sold them (whom I have blogged about) but I haven’t seen her trade offers for a while now. I do know Happy Go Knitty – what a talented family you are!

  9. Its absolutely gorgeous