Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Free pattern – Annabella hat

5 Comments

Hello again!

I’m pleased to bring you Annabella, the last design of my current alpaca “jag” and my personal favourite:

As I explained in my last post, Annabella is named in honour of my aunt, a free spirit of the 50’s.  With its delicate slip-stitch trellis pattern but slouchy top, it seems like something that she could have worn.

Knitted in the round, the brim is an easy slip-stitch trellis pattern and the top is slightly slouchy, giving the hat a casual look.

Like the Blue Danube and the Aviator, this hat is also knitted in Flagstaff Alpaca’s 8 ply (DK) multi-dyed 100% alpaca.  This colourway is called Mossy.

I liked this design so much that I knitted myself one too:

By this stage, my stores of alpaca yarn were getting low so here I used a 4 ply multi-dyed 100% alpaca held double.  It’s in Flagstaff Alpaca’s Marine colourway.   I knitted the middle stocking stitch part 1cm shorter than in the version modelled by my daughter.  I think I prefer the longer length, but this is a good illustration of the variation you can get to the look of the hat by changing the length.

The pattern comes with guidance for width and length alterations, but instructions are only for medium size (56 – 58cm).

Want to knit one for yourself?  Here it is!  Free pattern – Annabella hat.

Happy Knitting!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

5 thoughts on “Free pattern – Annabella hat

  1. Really like the look of this hat, but I prefer the less slouchy version

  2. Oh yes I want! Thank you so much it is a beautiful hat, I LOVE the slouchy version and am going to make one in chocolate brown, Yippeee 🙂

  3. Oh very nice. I love the slouchy version and I’m sure one of my nieces will too! Thank you so much for sharing it.