Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Snow time

15 Comments

An Antarctic storm is predicted to reach New Zealand tomorrow, bringing SNOW to sea level!!!!  While snow is a common occurrence in the South Island winter, it’s very unusual for the North Island of New Zealand, even in Wellington.  I’ve been watching the farming community around me bunking down and moving stock all day today.  It’s lambing time, and they’re doing their best to minimise casualties from the weather.

Being a cold-weather girl, I’m sooo excited about this bit of weather (although I do feel sorry for the poor sheep and lambs).  I’ll be a little disappointed if I wake up on Monday morning to a snow-less landscape.

In the meantime, some nice knitting to keep my lap warm:  someone very near and dear to me has a special occasion coming up in her life.  Amongst other things, I have decided to knit her this:

This is the Falling Waters Shawl from Clara Parkes’ Book of Wool.  I’m knitting it in Zealana’s soft and cuddly Willow (a DK weight, 70% merino, 30% cashmere blend).  It’s half-way done, but I will tell you more about it when it’s finished and the recipient has got it.  She reads this blog, so it’s a secret!  Shhhh!

And as predicted, it wasn’t long before I decided that my son Tim needed something knitted:

You can’t live with your mother and have holey socks and expect her to think you don’t need more…! (This is an Opal yarn in the Gardener colourway).  There’s something about socks for big boys.  It take a lot longer to knit than socks for girls… hmm.

Too bad they won’t be ready in time for the snow.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

15 thoughts on “Snow time

  1. Oooh I am so dreading the snow! Noooooo!
    Gardner is fun huh? I just finished a pair for my Mum and they are such a lovely colour, socks for boys… gulp…. little bit less instant gratification happening!
    Have a lovely week :O)

  2. ooh and p.s that willow looks sooooo snuggly and cuddly!!!

  3. I do love the colour and pattern of that shawl. It looks so cozy!
    I don’t envy you the snow…I’m sure it will pretty…but so cold! I’m barely coping with 11 degrees in Melbourne this arvo…
    Sonia

  4. Oh it looks very pretty in the mauve color. The socks look great too!

  5. SNOW!! That will be a lovely chance to wear all your gorgeous knitwear 🙂 Love that Opal yarn colouring too. That present looks so soft and snuggly I am sure it will be loved 🙂

  6. So exciting for you to have SNOW! I love the stuff but where I live in the south of UK we don’t get enough of it!!! You’ll be so warm and cosy in your gorgeous goodies! I’m bracing myself to knit my son’s great big feet some socks but am worried that once I start he’ll want lots more!!!! as Alice says, not such instant gratification but then thinking of his cosy toes… I think it has to be done, thanks for giving me the shove I needed! Can’t wait to see the Shhhhhh! above. Send us lots of pics when the snow comes pleeeease! it’s dull and grey here xx

  7. Yay Snow……..it is so warm and humid here at the moment that a little snow would be very welcome, although to be fair we did get more than our fair share this last winter.

    Such a beautiful shade of yarn for the Falling Waters Shawl, can’t wait to see it in all it’s finished glory.

    Opal is one of my favourite yarn for mens socks, it’s a bit more hardwearing than some……..I know what you mean, you have to be a dedicated knitter to knit mens socks……..OH is a size 11/12………thanks for the well wishes, I’m feeling much better now.

    lily x

  8. Snow is so exciting! I hope you get at least a nice dusting for when you wake up in the morning 🙂 You’ll have to let us know! Enjoy the opportunity to snuggle up in your nice woolly wear! That shawl looks like it would do the job quite nicely if it were done up. It looks lovely! Wonderful detail. Best wishes with the socks too!
    ~Lacey

  9. Snow I can’t imagine it yet. I feel like summer just started, but it’s cool in the morning and evening now. Love your Falling Waters Shawl, such a lovely color. And the Opal yarn is great. Hope you get your snow since you are excited for it!!!! xoRobin❤

  10. I’m a HUGE fan of that colour, and the pattern is very nice too. The recipient is lucky to have you!

  11. Snow to the sea? How exciting. I’m a wee bit jealous. It’s been quite hot in California. I’m really looking forward to sweater weather.

  12. Hooray! I’m so excited for the snow too – my favourite weather! Stay warm x

  13. You should come visit us here in Sweden in the winter to get a good portion of snow!!
    Opal socks yarns … mmm great really. And I know what you mean with the size…. could be same reason why me and my daughter (size 38) have quite a lot of handknitted socks, while my son (size 42) only have 2 pairs so far… 🙂

    • I keep threatening to move to Canada or Northern Europe where it snows properly in winter! Maybe one day huh! Yes. My son’s feet are about size 42 too. The socks are coming along… slowly. 😉

  14. Ooh, snow! I’m so excited for you, I love snow!

    The shawl yarn looks and sounds divine, can’t wait to see more!