Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The Falling Waters Shawl

12 Comments

This is a lovely shawl.  I want it for me.

I’ve mentioned in a previous post that it’s for a special person.

I finished it yesterday, and it will soon be winging its way to its recipient.

It’s knitted in Zealana’s Willow in DK weight.  70% merino, 30% cashmere… pure luxury!

The pattern can be found in “The Knitter’s Book of Wool” by Clara Parkes.

I only had 8 balls of this yarn (as opposed to the 11 balls the pattern asked for), so I’ve knitted a couple of repeats less, but for the purpose that’s meant for, I think the length will be fine.

Hope she likes it. 😉

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “The Falling Waters Shawl

  1. I LOVE it! Purple is my favourite colour, and the pattern is beautiful.
    Sonia xx

  2. It’s so lovely and I bet it is soft! It looks a nice size despite being 150gms off, I’m sure it will be adored!

  3. Whoever the recipient is, they are incredibly lucky to have a friend like you.

  4. It really is lovely. I just love the top photo, the ‘action’ shot.

    x

  5. I love that Boy Action Shot too! Reminds me of home 😉
    Lovely shawl and I can just imagine how soft it is, I sure it will be much loved. Beautiful!

  6. Love this pattern and your choice of yarn is perfect. Somehow, the little squares remind of biscuits! The recipient is a very lucky friend. xo

  7. Your gift will be very well received I’m sure! Merino and cashmere, mmmmmm. Sounds so warm and snuggly! You did a beautiful job and it’s quite long enough to wrap up in. No worries there! I also happen to agree with the others, the leaping boy in the background is great! Very fun 😀
    ~Lacey

  8. I’m in love with that color on you! You really need something in that for yourself. Beautiful work!!

  9. This is such a beautiful pattern! Good job!

  10. Beautiful knit. I am sure she adores it!