Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Free pattern: Market day hat

10 Comments

A little while ago, I introduced you to the Market Day hat:

And now, I’m pleased to give you the pattern:  Free pattern – Market day hat.

Want a hat with a little more texture than your average beanie, slightly more challenging, but still an easy knit?  This is the hat for you!

Knitted on circular needles, this is an all over four-row repeat chevron pattern, suitable for the average knitter looking for an interesting knit.  It is not technically difficult, but you’ll need to pay attention to which row you are on.

Pattern sizing is for small, medium and large adult heads.

I’m very happy with the crown:

The yarn is Stansborough‘s Mythral.  If you haven’t got this yarn in your area yet, it can be knitted in a light worsted (heavy DK) pure wool yarn.  I recommend wool to give the hat stitch definition and structure.

Hope you enjoy knitting it!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

10 thoughts on “Free pattern: Market day hat

  1. Wow, what a lovely hat and so great of you to share the pattern. I do love the texture and the details. That color is particularly nice for showing the design. Hope you are having a nice weekend. Love your wools in NZ so much! xoRobin❤

  2. Thank you so much for the pattern! It really does look fun and the top is very neat. I love the flower look to the spiral! I see you had a little helper in that last photo. How is the little furball doing? His markings are so handsome and he seems to be growing into a proper cat! Is your yarn still safe or has he been a little nuisance?
    ~Lacey

    • Thanks Lacey. 🙂 The little furball is doing well. He just loves sitting on my lap whenever I sit down, so he’s learned that ‘no’ really means ‘no’ when it comes to playing with the twitchy string I’m using, otherwise he gets evicted from his favourite chair!

  3. That top works so well with the chevron pattern! Did you plan that or was it a lucky?

  4. This is lovely! Thank you for sharing the pattern with us. I will have to use it to make myself another new hat (right after I finish the seven, felted dwarf hats for Halloween). lol

  5. Oh I can just see that in a variegated yarn or stripes, the top is gorgeous and I love all that texture, Thank you 🙂

  6. I have just found your blog. Great to find a NZ one. I’ve just got back into knitting after many years of not knitting. Could you please tell me if I can buy Stansborough wool in any shop in Auckland or do I buy off the net.

    • Hi Merilyn! Welcome back to the land of knitting! In answer to your question, Knit World sells Royal Mythral (lambswool) and they do stock it in their Auckland store. Otherwise, Mythral (both lambswool and 100% wool) are available on the net through Holland Road Yarn Company (www.hollandroadyarn.co.nz), or contact Stansborough directly (info@stansborough.co.nz).