Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Happy

12 Comments

Every knitter has a favourite medium.  Mine I believe, is cables.

I am so very, very, happy with the progress of my shawl design.  It’s the perfect marriage of fibre and design elements, even if I did design it myself.  I’m taking my time with this one because I’m enjoying it so much I don’t want the journey to end!

The light dances on the Mythral, the drape and loft of the yarn carry off the cables beautifully, without making the fabric stiff.  The overall feel is ‘just right’.  When I look at this shawl, it reminds me of the forest.   Of the texture of tree bark, the dappled light on the leaves on the ground and the winding rivers and streams of the land that I love so much.

I haven’t got a name for it yet, but it will be a forest name, I’m sure of it.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “Happy

  1. I love it! Cables are my favorite also, and that is the perfect yarn for a cabled shawl. Just finished your hat in the Mythral yesterday and wore it today! Neck warmer will be next!

  2. You really sound quite poetic 🙂 I’m anxiously awaiting the opportunity to purchase some of that Mythral. My hands are starting to itch. You make it sound so wonderful! Any ideas on how long it’ll take it to reach the US? Or is there a way to order it internationally? I understand that may not be an option yet, but I have to ask!
    ~Lacey

  3. Soooo gorgeous… can’t wait to see it finished xxx

  4. This is that tree you posted a photo of several weeks ago, isn’t it? It is beautiful. 🙂 I love the way you translate nature into wearable art.

  5. It’s awesome! Can’t wait to see the photos when it’s finished.

  6. I love the description of what the shawl reminds you of. I hope you add that into the written pattern. It really adds so much to the feel of the project. (Which looks lovely, I must say)

  7. you’re very artistic y’know. Sort of a more poetic version of Norah Gaughan’s “Knitting Nature”

  8. Those cables are just lovely! I have a love affair with cables as well. I believe them to be magical. 🙂

  9. I absolutely love it. I’m going to crack on with current 3 projects to make room for this as soon as the pattern is up!! You’re so descriptive and poetic and I totally love the name for obvious reasons! xxxxxxxxxx