Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Of a mouse, cables and lace

12 Comments

Thankfully, it’s not what you’re thinking.  But it’s almost as bad.

Someone decided he needed a Pikachu, the mouse Pokémon.  Of course, no knitting pattern for a Pikachu exists, so I had to knit it on the fly.  I got no rest from hassling until it was done…  equal to mouse damage, if you ask me!

The knitting is not the finest example of my work, and I am absolutely terrible at embroidery, but at least he’s happy and has stopped the infernal pestering!

So now, I can get back to the prettiest lace cardi…

and some fine cables.

I’ve finally got the central cable perfect.  Pattern writing can begin!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “Of a mouse, cables and lace

  1. The ‘mouse’ looks pretty cool. Well done and I am glad it is liked ( maybe a gap in the market for a pattern of that!!)

    Cardigan looks lovely as well. Got 2 hours uninturuptded (that looks wrong – but have a ginger bundle ‘helping’ me type!!) of knitting/crochet time tomorrow, off to Chichester to see my niece, then off to Jose next week. Bliss, I could get used to this train travel!!

  2. Hmmm I don’t suppose you wrote down how you made Pikachu?? I had better not let my boys see that photo they will definitely want one too and I must say he looks awesome to me. Brilliant job and I can see he is treasured already 🙂

    • I didn’t write it down I’m afraid. But I’ve typed out basic instructions on my project notes for it on Ravelry. They are reasonably detailed, so if you are good at knitting ‘by eye’ they will probably be sufficient to start from. I may write a pattern… but it will have to be when I’ve got a few other things out of the way!

  3. If you think that your Pikachu isn’t spot on, you’re mistaken. It’s perfect and much larger than I thought when I first started reading your post. I think you are going to have to write down the pattern and post it as you’ll probably start to get a lot of requests for it! Looking forward to seeing what that lovely cable knitting is going to become. xo

  4. Pikachu is really great!! But I’m sooooooo looking forward to the cable pattern and seeing the lacey cardi xxxxx

  5. Hallo from Germany too!
    yes the Pikachu is perfect! I think I could even please my nearly ten year old daughter with it. She regulery plays the Pokemons on her nintendo…
    so if you can give a pattern for it…please do so!!!

    • Well, as I said to Jenni, I may write a pattern, but I have a few things to do first. I’ve written reasonably detailed instructions in my project notes for it on ravelry (username KiwiPurler). If you work by ‘eye’ and my instructions you should be able to make one from them. Good luck!

  6. That Pikachu is brilliant Siew! Very lifelike!

  7. I love how that diamond shaped cable branches off and meets the other side. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it. Beautiful work!

    • I can’t actually take credit for the design. Have a week look in your copy of Aran Knitting… you’ll see something familiar! The only thing is, I had to work out how to knit it for straight knitting and rechart it for that. Not quite as easy as it seemed.

  8. The pikachu turned out wonderfully! I bet you could sell those on eBay, especially with all the upcoming holidays. I think Etsy would be a great place to sell them 🙂