Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Support Wovember

10 Comments

You may have already noticed the “Wovember” button on my sidebar.  Many of you will already know what it’s about.

I thought I would make sure that as many people as possible knew about it though by doing a post as well.

Wovember is the initiative of Kate Davies (of the fabulous blog Needled) and Felicity Ford, who are putting together a petition to bring about changes to the way the word “wool” can be used in garment marketing.

If you haven’t already seen it, follow this link to find out more and how you can help support proper use of the description “wool” in garments.  It’s a worthwhile cause.

It’s an interesting little loophole around consumer labelling laws.  I’m assuming that the UK must be the same as New Zealand, where you must label a garment with its fibre content. Apparently, the same labelling standards to not appear to apply to how a garment is described!

Go Kate and Felicity!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

10 thoughts on “Support Wovember

  1. Good for you! I’m following your lead and adding the button to my blog as well. And I’m wearing two (wool) hand-knits today.

  2. Glad to see you participating in Wovember, too, as I know what a huge advocate you are of locally grown wool. There really isn’t anything as beautiful as natural fibers! Looking forward to seeing your projects — will you enter the competition and post photos? I will!

  3. That sounds like such an excellent campaign! I keep hearing about Wovember but I’ve been so absent from the blogging universe lately that I didn’t know what it was all about. Thanks for highlighting it! I’ll definitely be pilling on the woollies this month 🙂

  4. Perfect timing for snow season in Colorado! Wool is nature’s most perfect fiber.

  5. Supported! Unfortunately moths found my two favorite wool scarves, so now I have to think of a creative way to repair them. The yarn is varigated (and I don’t have more). But I am wearing wool!

    • Thank you! Poor you about the scarves though. I had the same issue with a scarf – it was a favourite too. I ended up binning it as it was beyond repair. However, a little grafting with a similarly coloured yarn can do wonders for small holes.

      • These holes are about 1″ to 1-1/2″ (it was along a fold). Am going to see what I can do with them this weekend. The wool was some my husband gave me as a gift a couple years ago. He was so proud of himself for buying me yarn he knew I would like! 🙂 So I want to save them because of the sentimental value, too.

  6. I didn’t know there was a button. I’ll have to add that.
    How are you going to participate in Wovember? I’m working on a bunch of photo ideas.

    • Well, aside from the usual daily wool wearing, I am considering some photos and possibly a post or two about a sheep breed if I can manage it. I don’t think I’ll enter the photos in the competition (although wouldn’t it be wonderful to have all that lovely J&S!) But I’ll put them up on the blog for everyone’s enjoyment. The pattern(s) I’m releasing in November will all be about wool too.