Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Pattern release: Sylvia

6 Comments

Today (with  more than a little nervousness), I am excited to release the Sylvia shawl pattern.

I adore cables.  Often mentioned for their ability to ‘tell a story’ in knitting, I took this concept to tell of my love for the New Zealand forest. Of walking amongst trees with their cabled, knotted bark; of the way the sunlight dapples the ground as it filters down through the leaves; of the streams that meander through the land that I love so much.

I chose cables that reflect these elements and for their harmony and balance when combined.  The cable patterns I have chosen are not all common. You will easily get the grasp of three of the four cables in the shawl, but do make sure you pay careful attention to the central cable chart.  At the suggestion of one of my lovely test knitters, I have included colour coding to help with ease of reading this chart.

I used Stansborough’s Mythral to knit this shawl, choosing this rare breed New Zealand wool yarn for its perfect match to what I wanted to achieve in terms of stitch definition, overall look and functionality.  Strong, but with a lightness and fluidity to it, it has a beautiful lustre (which you can see in the photo below where the sun hits the shawl), a wonderful ability to hold its shape, drape beautifully and keep the wearer warm and cosy.  It’s a yarn that will stand the test of time.

Dimensions: 25”/64cm wide x 77”/1.94m long.

I recommend this pattern at intermediate level.

You need

4.5mm (US 7) circular needle (100cm/40” length)

Cable needle

16 balls (50g = 113yd/104m) Stansborough Mythral DK 100% wool in Kokako

Sylvia is available for purchase here (Ravelry link – you do not need to be a member).  The pattern is 3MB in size.  If you need a smaller file to suit your Internet capability, please contact me for a lower resolution copy.

I hope you enjoy knitting Sylvia as much as I did.  Many thanks to my wonderful test knitters who took the time to make sure my charts were accurate!

Happy Knitting!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

6 thoughts on “Pattern release: Sylvia

  1. beautiful! I love your thoughts about cables & the forest, they do the same for me, albeit I think of the TN mtns I grew up in. 🙂

  2. Beautiful work! Thank you for the copy!

  3. I was mesmerized by your Sylvia Shawl as you were creating it and in our little chats. It’s more beautiful than I imagined — how will you manage to NOT wear it now that you’re in a warmer season?? xo

    • Haha! Today, we’re having howling gales and horizontal rain. It’s only 14C, which is not freezing, but cold enough to want to wrap a nice cosy, woollen shawl around you! That’s the great thing about wool. You can wear it when it’s very cold, and when it’s not so cold, and it still feels comfortable. I’m happy you like the shawl. 🙂

  4. Gorgeous Pattern, it makes for a spectacular shawl 🙂