Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Fractals

8 Comments

Frac’tal:  A curve or geometric figure, each part of which has the same statistical character as the whole.  (Dictionary.com)

The winding braids of a river, the branches of a tree, the veins in a leaf,  even our own blood vessels for that matter, are fractals. What interests me about fractals is that they are by and large courseways, or natural lines of energy flow. I find them fascinating.

In knitting, more than one designer has been inspired by fractals.  Norah Gaughan’s beautiful book Knitting Nature explores many aspects of natural form and she has turned those inspirational elements into gorgeous things for us to knit.

Let’s look at some fractals:

I love the seeming random pattern of the branches of this cabbage tree.

Fern and cicada’s wings:

Another cicada with beautiful wings (I love these guys).

Branches within branches of the harakeke flower stem (NZ flax):

The very pleasing form of the branching needles and seed pods of the macrocarpa:

Science aside, they simply inspire and delight me.

What do you think I’ve decided to do with it?

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “Fractals

  1. Oh, I think it is going to be amazing!!! Great inspirations………..enjoy!
    xoRobin❤

  2. I like when you post photos of NZ’s flora and fauna, being European I find it exotic. I don’t know what have you decided to knit but the color is very nice. Is it maybe a motif that in every repetition becomes smaller and more numerous?

  3. beautiful photography and it looks like you have come up with another wonderful design. congratulations, love your blog AND your knitting regards margot

  4. Ooo, a new pattern. Is it a shawl? Or armwarmers? Or something completely different?

  5. I love fractals too! So much inspiration….

    You would love my new tattoo which is a little cicada, they symbolize long life too 🙂

  6. I love making photos of the patterns in nature . . . trees against the sky, rock formations. Your photos are great. 🙂 Have fun with your new project!