Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Socks are addictive

20 Comments

I’ve been doing a bit of light knitting.  My back has decided to play up for some reason this week, and I’ve been rendered virtually immobile.  Voltaren is my best friend.

As they say though, there is a silver lining in every cloud.  I needed to knit something that was small.  Something that wouldn’t put undue strain on my back.  The chosen project was one that had been sitting in my guilt pile for a while.  They’re my eldest son’s first pair of socks.

I’m afraid someone was uncooperative about modelling them.  Sigh.  He is however, very happy to have his first pair of socks – finally!  I made them a wee bit loose as he’s still growing, and I’d like him to be able to wear them for a while.

I wanted to tell you about this:

I finally got that dratted Kitchener Stitch down to pat!  (Bwahahahaha!!!!!)  Look at that perfectly stitched toe!  Yussssss!! A win!!! I am soooo happy!!!!!

I know I’ve said I’ve got it sussed before, but it seemed that after my triumphant first pretty Kitchener, it all went downhill again, much to my dismay and frustration.  In fact, I was so angry at not getting it right, that with my son’s first sock, I did a three-needle bind off instead.  That did not make me feel good though.  Although the toe was nice and neat, it wasn’t Kitchenered.  I felt defeated.  In a sulk, I buried the second sock deep in the WIP pile, and went off in search of happier knitting pastures.

My poor son wore the first completed sock around the house until the weather warmed up, pleased to at least have one sock.  You’ll notice it’s slightly more rubbed looking than its fresh-off-the-needles twin.  After my spectacular failure with the toes, I just couldn’t face the second.  Heartless mummy.  I know.

This week, I decided that I really had to tackle Kitchener stitch and conquer it!  Everyone else could do it, why couldn’t I?  I found this very helpful tutorial from the Knitwitch which finally explained the mysteries of where exactly I was going wrong (I wasn’t entering the second stitch before I changed to the next needle).  Now I will be able to Kitchener perfectly every time!!  Thanks Brittany!

Knitting this pair of socks also reminded me that sock knitting is quite addictive.  There’s something about tiny needles and thin yarn.   I love the minuteness of the stitches, yet how quickly the project grows, despite the smallness.  Especially now I don’t face failure on those last.pesky.stitches!!!

You can guess what I’m going to show you next right?

Hehe.  Pretty socks-to-be in raspberry-coloured BFL.  Yum.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

20 thoughts on “Socks are addictive

  1. Ha ha!!! It is 5am here in the uk and I have actually managed to open your blog up on my phone (usually says something about Java script). I have just finished jasper’s first sock!! But…….. Am told on the pattern to graft the toes together (these were chunky knit on two needles) but have no idea how to do this so they are waiting for me to get home after a nice (so far) night shift to sit in front of youtube (but now will follow your link, to finish the first sock off. I’m going to make a list of my guilt pile (much nicer way of saying WIP’s) and try to shame myself into finishing off them before I start anything else. But I am sat here with your (Zelander ?) Yarn making my Dad a simple hat for Christmas. It was the dusky blue arran weight yarn we swapped. It is so lovely to knit with.

    • Oh wow! I think you’ll like the video – it’s the best tutorial I’ve seen so far. Really nice and clear. Good luck! I’m glad you are enjoying Zealana Heron. It’s one of my favourites!

  2. Amazing – love gardner yarn. I also have two wips in progress socks ready to Kitchener stitch.

  3. I hope you feel better soon! lovely socks 🙂

  4. Congrats on getting the hang of the kitchener stitch! I’ll bet it’ll show up in your next design. (At least new techniques tend to show up in my designs. I get all excited about getting the hang of them.)

  5. He he, you are addicted – casting on as soon as you cast off!
    I started knitting (after many years of not knitting) when I strained my back and was pretty much immobilised for 2 weeks! I hope yours gets better soon!

  6. Every now and then when I do a cuff-down sock, I use this tutorial to show me what to do- http://www.stitchdiva.com/custom.aspx?id=50 but I usually just do toe up socks, which means I don’t have to bother with it at all! Your socks look great, though, and I’m glad your son appreciates them!

  7. As if the Kitchener wasn’t challenging enough, I have a cabled scarf that needs to be Kitchenered together at the middle. I’ve picked it apart twice and can’t find my way through the cables, drat!
    Sorry to hear that you’re feeling poorly! Could I send you my scarf? (hehe – just kidding – maybe)

  8. The socks are really great. I love the colors!

  9. Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. On the upside, I am glad you finally conquered that stitch! I’m sure that helped to make you feel a bit better 🙂 I’m excited to see your next pair in that very pretty raspberry color! WIll you be making a standard sock or will it have a pattern design?
    ~Lacey

  10. Congrats on the sock finishing! What pattern is the new sock?

  11. Congrats on the triumph! Be gentle with yourself. 🙂 Sending healing energy.

  12. Mwahahaha!! Another sock convert! Welcome to the ranks 😉

  13. yes socks are addictive but I still have trouble finishing the second one! Well done on the beautiful kitchener stitch. There was a good tutorial link in Alices comments for a better youtube for kitchener stitch but I have lost it….I was sure I saved it?? Will have to go searching now!

  14. Great socks! That’s some good looking kitchener. I still feel a little bit smug every time I kitchener something together 🙂

  15. Yay for sock knitting……………….so happy you’ve mastered kitchener stitch……….which of course means there will be no more ‘one sock wearing’ children wandering around your homestead…….hope you’re feeling better soon. x