Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

12 degrees

9 Comments

That’s the temperature in my house in Wellington today.  About 55F.  It’s meant to be summer, but we’re having a bit of a cold snap.  I’ve changed three times today, and finally settled on a merino base layer and a possum pullover.

Finally, a bit of warmth!

I should tell you a bit more about this jumper actually.  It’s Fleet, by Kim Hargreaves from A Treasury of Rowan Knits.

This pullover is a good example of what you can do with possum yarn.

I knitted Fleet in 2009.  It has seen three winters, and been worn constantly each season (and in between!)  And yet it remains pristine.  Not a hint of wear, not a pill.  It’s fantastic!

Actually, it seems I’m on a bit of a Rowan bender at the moment…

With the exception of the black number in the front (which I’ll tell you more about very soon), you’re looking at two more Rowan beauties.  The green is Benbecula, which is coming along nicely.  The red is the beginning of the pretty cabled 3/4 sleeve sweater I introduced to you in my last post.  I’m knitting it in Stansborough’s prototype yarn that I’ve been hoarding for a while.  I think I’ve finally found the project to do this beautiful yarn justice.

I’ll be back soon, with more possum happiness to share with you.

8 sleeps to go before Christmas!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

9 thoughts on “12 degrees

  1. I can’t believe that sweater is 3 years old! That really is incredible and it looks great! I like the color too 🙂

    • It continually surprises me too. The thing about possum is that commercially made knitwear is done on a very fine ply. And because possum is not the strongest yarn, it often wears out long before it’s meant to. But with handknit, it’s a totally different story! The yarn is much thicker, and therefore wears very, very well.

  2. 12 degrees!
    It’s 30 here in Melbourne, and humid. Storms are on the way…
    That sweater is lovely. It looks very cozy 🙂
    I’ve just started the 1st arm of my 1st ever knit down cardigan. Exciting times…:-)

  3. We went into a yarn shop in York (with the intention of buying a little something for a little someone, tehe) except that they didn’t sell Rowan or anything special. Just bog standard stuff, you literally had more yarn in the house than they did. It was a tiny shop with boring yarn.
    I didn’t think you would approve of much of the merchandise, acrylic. And at £8.9 a skein!!!

    Anyway, just thought you would like to know that 🙂
    Your tree looks lovely 😦 Everybody’s gone home for the holidays and that’s left me pulling down the Christmas decorations and putting up the ‘Welcome Home’ ones for the surprise party -.-

  4. Wow, ‘fleet’ still looks impressive !

  5. Inspirational! So much so that I’ve queued Fleet on Ravelry, odered the Rowan book from Better World Books and yarn from The Wool Company.

    Much enjoying your blog posts. Many thanks. 🙂

  6. wow I wish it was 12 here! Its so hot and my kids are on overload with excitement….only 7 more sleeps and crazy day….i’m hoping to get a rest on boxing day 🙂 Happy Holidays to you and yours, I hope it gets a little warmer for your summer. Your jumper is gorgeous and so well wearing!