Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Socsess!!

13 Comments

Just had to show you how my lovely Happy Go Knitty BFL sock yarn socks turned out.

I’m super pleased with these socks.  The yarn is finer than I normally work with, but it turns out 64 stitches cast on with 2.25mm needles in this yarn produces a perfectly fitting sock for me!  I’ll have to remember to cast on less stitches next time I use a “regular” sock yarn!

As you’ll guess, I’m super, super happy with the toe:

Kitchener stitch is completely conquered!!! Yesss!!!!!

I also like the heel on these socks.  This is the eye of partridge heel:

The pattern is the basic sock recipe found in Knitting Rules! by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.  If you don’t have this book, I highly recommend it, especially for newbie sock knitters like me.  Stephanie holds your hand all the way through the process, so you don’t feel lost at any stage of the proceedings (very important for the first few socks off the needles!)

Although I usually use sock projects as my ‘waiting’ knitting, and therefore prefer to keep them ‘plain vanilla’ so I don’t have to concentrate on the knitting, I’m starting to think about knitting others in a pattern.  Which are your favourite sock patterns?

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

13 thoughts on “Socsess!!

  1. They look fab! I’m very impressed by both toe and heal, very nice. Well done!

    You know where you can find the yarn if you would like to make another pair. 😉

  2. If you want to give toe-up a try, I would highly recommend Wendy Johnson’s Socks from the Toe Up. She starts with really basic socks, explaining her directions really well, and adds more difficult patterns, too. Toe-up socks are my favorites- you can just knit until you run out of yarn!

  3. Those are beautiful socks! I love the colour, and will look for the book.

  4. Those socks look so cozy! And I love that heel.

    As for a sock recommendation, I quite like Leyburns. I chose to knit them because the yarn harlot has made several pairs. It’s a fun knit and easy pattern.

  5. I’ve found several of Morag McKenzie’s patterns really good; she’s Vintagepurls on Ravelry. Her basic sock is really good as well as Theodora. I’ve also knit a free pattern called Mermaidia on Ravelry which is really good; I’ve just started my second pair using that pattern and I will knit it again too.

  6. Socsess Indeed! 🙂

    I am challenging myself to get the socks mastered this year and even finish a pair 🙂 Just joined the throughtheloops mystery sock KAL with Kirsten Kapur on Ravelry for my first project for 2012…..bobbles and cables! I’ve roped my neighbour into it as well so if I get stuck I will be able to go-to her for help 🙂

  7. Success, indeed! Not only do your socks fit perfectly but I love the color and texture. And to have conquered the kitchener stitch … my, my! xo

  8. I’ve just had go at kitchener and can totally appreciate the difficult in getting it right – not too loose and not too tight.

  9. Ooh, they are looovely! Eye of partridge is one my favourite heel types 🙂