Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Shopping the “stash”

12 Comments

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope you are having a good start to 2012.

Feeling a little worse for wear today (I’m such a lightweight – one glass of wine, and it was all over me last night!), with the weather looking equally as grey, I decided to indulge in a little colour therapy to brighten my day.

What is this, you ask?

Well… these are some of the yarns that I have grand plans to knit into garments during 2012.  Actually, there is a specific timeframe to quite a few of them, so I am going to be a busy bee with the needles for the next couple of months!  My siblings and I are getting together for a rare family weekend over Easter, and I plan on having a few goodies to give out when we meet.  It’s my version of Christmas, given I didn’t see most of my family this holiday period.

Let’s have a closer look at some of these beauties shall we?

If you have read my blog for any period of time, you’ll know of my love for Zealana.  It’s New Zealand’s answer to Rowan, and I do so love Zealana yarns.  Tui (a chunky weight) is one of my absolute favourites:

I have been swinging between knitting it into the Melrose Peacoat or the Cowl-Neck Pullover from Zealana’s Seasonless pattern book:

I think I’ve finally settled on the cowl-neck pullover as I figure I will get more use out of it come winter.  I’m going to make the neck less bulky and lengthen the sleeves though.

Tui is a bulky yarn, spun out of 70% merino, 15% cashmere and 15% possum.  It’s super soft and gloriously cuddly.  I knitted the Clasica coat from this yarn, and every time I wear this coat, I feel like I’m wrapped in pure luxury.

It has been a while since I last wrote in depth about possum yarn, but if you are new to my blog, I invite you to read these posts about this amazing fiber.

One of the reasons that I have decided not to make a coat out of the Tui is that I have my eye on turning this:

into Gayle (swatch in the photo) or the Livingstone Cardi.  I’m in a bit of a quandary.  I love the intricately cabled Rowan design (who wouldn’t!) but I also like the syncopated cables of the Livingstone and how it has proper closures (better in winter) and a nicer sleeve line.  However, I don’t like the plain sleeve in the Livingstone, nor the length of the coat.  I suspect I’ll end up doing a mixture of both – lengthen the Livingstone so it’s as long as Gayle and put a cable in the sleeve.

The yarn is Little Wool Co.’s 100% wool 12 ply naturals in Perlite.  It’s New Zealand Corriedale, grown and machine spun on the premises by Anna Gratton.  I love this yarn.  It’s everything you expect wool to be – hard-wearing, toasty as an oven, cosy.  It just gets softer and cuddlier as time goes on.  Wearing this yarn, you truly understand the wicking properties of wool.  It’s an especially lovely yarn to wear when it’s damp (often in NZ!) because the wool absorbs the moisture from the air, and you do not feel sticky or chilly at all.  Even in a light drizzle, I feel warm and dry wearing a garment made from this yarn.  This particular yarn comes in three sizes – fingering,  DK and bulky.  I have both the bulky and the DK weight in the whole range of natural colours, as it is sooo good to knit with.  It’s particularly good for fair-isle type knitting as well.

Little Wool Co. also hand-dyes yarn, although it’s a shame Anna does not make these available for online sales:

This is fingering weight 100% wool, destined to be a shawl of some kind.  I’ve just realised it’s not in the ‘group’ photo… I think I had it off to the side to photograph all on its own.

This winter is going to be my eldest son’s first proper one in New Zealand.  He’s going to need something very warm to wear as our house is cold (think 4C/39F indoors).

This is more possum yarn.  It’s from The Wool Company this time, and it’s a DK/light worsted weight in 70% merino, 30% possum.  It’s out-of-this-world warm, and you won’t hear complaints of “itchy” from someone wearing this yarn.  This is the same yarn used in the Fleet sweater I recently showed you.  I think I shall try the Cobblestone Pullover as my son likes this pattern and he will look good in it.  The instructions look intimating… all those short rows!  Short rows and I have not got along so far, but perhaps this is the project to master this technique.  If at least 2,000 others can make this pattern look fantastic, so can I.

Last one for today, this is Naturally’s Aspire.  It’s a single spun mix of 70% merino, 30% alpaca.  They don’t do this colourway any more.  I have had it a while, intending to knit it into a Cedar Grain for one of my sisters, but never quite getting to it…  It’s a special birthday for her this year, so it shall be done!  The yarn is a dead ringer for Berroco’s Jasper, the yarn specified in the pattern.

More tomorrow!

In the meantime, here’s a quick WIP shot of the Cabled 3/4 sleeve sweater, which is coming along beautifully:

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “Shopping the “stash”

  1. Happy New Year!

    Isn’t it fun planning a new year of knitting. I learnt something last year that makes short rows a breeze. Rox from Ravelry highlighted in her ‘Ask a Knitter’ thread how to do German short rows. My go-to now. When I try to pick up wraps, I can at times, be disappointed in the results. If gartering, I don’t pick up and all is fine but for stocking stitch, I recommend the German short rows. It is a very simple action and produces a seamless result. Here’s the link – http://www.ravelry.com/twir/86/ask-a-knitter-26

    Many wishes for a happy and knitterly 2012

    kb

  2. I think if I knit myself something I would be very tempted to knit it in the Rimu as the more I wash the mitts the softer they seem to become.

    I hope that you have a really happy 2012, looks like you are going to be kind of busy!!

    x

  3. Wow, I expect your gorgeous photos have been soothing fragile heads all over the globe today. Such beautiful wools! Happy New Year to you.

  4. Happy New Year !

    Those cables in your WIP look gorgeous !
    And I am very curious on how your Cedar Grain will turn out.. The pattern looks great, and in that Naturally’s Aspire it sure will look bliss !
    As for the Livingstone/Gayle patterns.. as for myself I’d go for the Livingstone.. The cable pattern in Gayle looks good, but the general shape doesn’t look too flattering it seems.. surely compared to the Livingstone..

    • I agree. When I saw the Livingstone, I immediately sensed that Gayle had been knocked off the queue. As you say, it is a more flattering shape, as well as the other bonus points I mentioned in my post.

  5. Especially love the photo of all your yarn for the projects. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  6. It’s certainly going to be a busy beautiful yarny year for you. Love all your projects and wools!!! Happy New Year. xoRobin❤

  7. So very many beautiful cabled projects!! And such snuggly yarn 🙂 You’re going to have a fun year. And I think I may have just added to my queue. Again. That Livingstone cardi is lovely!

  8. I just love reading what people are knitting and seeing all those beautiful yarns makes me want to fly to New Zealand for that Zealana yarn.
    Love, love them
    Sharon