Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Thankful

9 Comments

This Christmas, I received a beautiful surprise gift.

My lovely knitting friend, Kb, knitted a monster in gorgeous yarn, decorated him with beautifully, and mailed him to me all the way from the UK.

He strikes me as the perfect knitter’s gift, from one knitter to another.

Just look at those cute stitch markers!  The ones that spell Y.A.R.N are actually old typewriter keys.  The beads are so beautiful.  There’s also one on his ear.

And funny badges:

He sits at my desk, my little knitting buddy.  So cute, I had to share him with you.

Thank you again, Kb.  You’re a true sweetie.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

9 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Very cute 🙂 Yay for knitting buddies!
    ~Lacey

  2. she spoiled you ! very cute !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. It’s gorgeous!! What a lovely surprise!

  4. It’s sooo cute!!
    You’ll have to send her some mice/ hamsters to balance the cuteness in the world 🙂

  5. Oh he is adorable! I love the stitch markers, very nice idea 🙂

  6. What a lovely gift! And all the way from the UK! It’s always lovely to receive something through the post especially from afar. Does this lovely friend of yours sell these? I had a belated Christmas card, with New Year greetings, from a dear friend in Italy just today … always a delight to hear from her though the news that she has lost her restaurant and is now working in an hotel in the mountains was sad… I feel an extra special scarf coming on for her. The up-side was of course to have heard from her and the silver lining in her troubles…we might actually get to meet up this year! Joy! I think I need to learn to knit socks,(but I am so confused about the different knitting styles.) as my Italian friend and I hope to walk the very long Camino next year, I have so much to learn about it let alone the socks! I can’t think of anything else I can do in such a situation, if anyone has any ideas do let me know.

    I am going to take this moment to tell you how much I love your blog from the photos to ..the text you write … to the wonderful knits … all, an absolute inspiration! How talented you are.

    • Thanks for your lovely words. 🙂 My friend doesn’t sell the monsters. The pattern is from Rebecca Danger’s Big Book of Monsters. She just made one for me because she liked knitting them (as you can tell, I loved it!)

      In answer to your question about socks. In my personal experience, I had looked at many sock patterns and got rather confused and discouraged. But then I decided to use Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s book ‘Knitting Rules!’ to knit my first pair and they practically knitted themselves! She has very clear step-by-step instructions on how to knit a sock, and if your foot is average size, you won’t need to make any size modifications. There are also more detailed explanations about the various methods (like how to turn a heel) which helped enormously. In any event, the first sock is always a good one to see how you can adjust to personal fit. Once you get to grips with the basic construction of a sock, it’s much easier to branch out and try more complicated patterns and construction methods. Hope that helps. Like everything, there’s nothing to them once you’ve figured it out! I can now knit a sock without even looking at a pattern! All thanks to Stephanie.

      I hope you get to meet up with your Italian friend and enjoy that lovely walk!