Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Free pattern: Cadeau (cowl)

19 Comments

I’m delighted to release Cadeau today!  The knotted cables of this cowl resembled little bows, or flowers to me, just like a nicely wrapped gift, and so I named it ‘gift’ in French.

This is the long version:

This is the short version:

It’s also my gift to you until Valentine’s Day, February 14.  Make sure you get it now so as not to miss out!  Click here to download immediately, or here to see details (and download) on Ravelry.

Using two balls of Zealana Tui (you’ll have half a ball left over in the short version), this pattern is knitted in the round on 7mm needles.  Tension is 14 sts x 22 rows over the 4 x 6 rib pattern (blocked) using 7mm needles.

It’s a very basic pattern but with a few small twists – one at cast-on,  two cable needles for the knotted cable (there are only five cables in total – it’s not intense), and the suggested bind-off by me that I introduced to you yesterday.  The pattern includes a tutorial for this.

The cast-on and cast-off are merely suggestions, but it makes it interesting if you haven’t tried these methods before.

I thought that these little details might provide enough interest for a quick KAL.  If I get enough response, I’ll start a KAL group on Ravelry, so that all who would like to participate can use it as a place to meet up and chat – send me a PM over on Ravelry where I’m KiwiPurler, so I can ascertain demand, and I’ll update you.

My current idea is to have a 6 Feb cast-on date, with the aim that it’s finished by Valentine’s Day. I knitted each of these cowls in a day, so it is a very quick knit. Do join!!

At this point, I’d like to encourage you to try Tui, a truly beautiful yarn of two lofty singles plied together in a thick/thin spin.  It is chunky weight (12 ply) 70% NZ merino, 15% cashmere and 15% possum.  Each 100g ball has approx 111m (121yd).  Soft and cuddly, it has just the right amount of cushiony drape and lightness that is perfect for this cowl design.  There is a nice range of 12 colours to choose from.

So where to get Zealana in your country?

The United States – The Yarnsisters (this will direct the order to the nearest outlet to you that stocks this yarn).  Due to the appreciation of the New Zealand dollar, I’m told that the price for this is going to increase.  However, the Yarnsisters are kindly holding the price at US$20.40 for 30 days for your benefit.

The Canadian distributor of Zealana is Nordic Yarn T: +1 604 574 4445
www.nordicyarns.ca and a list of their retailers can be found here.

Europe and the UK (I’m told that the following shops stock Tui and will send via mail order):

London – Fringe, Studio 108, Alexandra Park Road, N10 2AE London.  +44 208 883 9478
Austria – Zum Schwarzen Schaf (Austria) Zum Schwarzen Schaf, Roseggerstraße 13, 6890 Lustenau,  +43 5577 62967 www.stricken-macht-gluecklich.at
Germany:
Wollart und mehr…, Eyendorfer Str. 3, 21376 Salzhausen,  +49 4172 969123,  www.wollart.de
Murmelana, Edelgarn, Bornweg 21, 21521 Dassendorf,  +49 4104 5581
Handarbeiten Müller, Handarbeiten Müller, Krumme Straße 19, 32756 Detmold,             +49 5231 28216, www.handarbeitenmueller.de
Fil Garn Wolle, Friedrich-Ebert-Str.147, 34119 Kassel, +49 561 710029, www.fil-garn-wolle.de
FrohSinn Atelier für schöne Dinge, Oberkasseler Straße 81, 40549 Düsseldorf, +49 211 5502294
Strickeria Wolle und Mode, Nordendstraße 17, 80799 München,  +49 89 88904532, www.strickeria-muenchen.net
Kemptner Wollparadies, Promenadestr. 1, 87435 Kempten, +49 831 5239377, www.kemptner-wollparadies.de
Sweden – Karma Garn HB, Gösta Andreesgata, 42336 Torslanda, http://www.karmagarn.se

Other European stockists of Zealana (but may not necessarily have Tui in stock can be found here).

In New Zealand and Australia, you can get Tui from Knit World, Mishi Yarns or Masco’s (T:  +64 09 377 5898).  All will send via mail or telephone order (I believe!).

I’m looking forward to knitting this with you! And of course, you do not have to use Tui to join in the KAL… I just thought I’d give you a bit of encouragement to do so.  😉

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

19 thoughts on “Free pattern: Cadeau (cowl)

  1. I didn’t think you could improve on this – I liked your ‘fail’ version. But the long version – LOVE it – count me in on the knit-along.

  2. The long version is so elegant. Great job!

  3. Ditto! The long version is perfect. And perfect for Tui! Thanks for the gift.

  4. That is so pretty! Thanks for the Valentines present and Happy Valentines to you too xx
    I won’t join the KAL im still finishing my socks, ill add this to my ‘to-do’ list 🙂

  5. Very nicely done!

  6. It looks very nice! I might have to try it with my homespun pygora! That would be lovely against your skin!!
    Thank you!

  7. love the bow type twists – very pretty

  8. You Temptress! I’ve promised to have a scarf ready for my husband’s birthday in late February, so a part of me is thinking, “Sure, you have time!” And another part of me reminds me about the sampler scarf I have been knitting for several weeks now. Sigh. I am going to take advantage of your lovely pattern (Thank you!), and even buy the Tui yarn (in Cerise, I think), but am going to put it on my to-do list after the promised gift. This is so beautiful, Wei Siew!

  9. The most intriguing cable design I’ve ever seen! I liked the “failed” version too, but like this better. Can’t wait to try it in the “Cupid” Tui. Thanks for the Valentine!!

  10. Thank you very, very much for the gift of your pattern, it is wonderful and I love the longer one. I must also admit to rather liking the more patterned one that you did not like yourself.
    Having watched, well….read your blog for…….well it must be close to not long after you started [and struggled to send you my comments which I could not manage to launch into cyber space for some reason???] I have watched you nuture and grow your skills. It has been a really wonderful journey you embarked upon and invited us to share with you. Thank you so very much and my congratulations are sincerely offered. Now I can only hope I can send you this, this time.

  11. Love those cables, and the finished cowl looks so cuddly and soft. I don’t normally like wearing things close around around my neck, but this one is really tempting.

  12. Gorgeous !
    I’ve cueued it on Rav

    thanks for your generosity

  13. I love how you turned a F.A.I.L. into an absolute success. I just queued this (thank you) and would love to join in a KAL. I especially love the longer version — it’s gorgeous.

  14. Wow this is just beautiful. Thank you for sharing this pattern for free. I just started following your blog. It’s been a great resource to learn about New Zealand yarn.

  15. Not much of a knitter myself, I think the longer version of your Cadeau is lovely; as an older woman, would quite like it bordered with a deep fringe too – maybe 10 cm? Paddy