Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life


10 Comments

Cedar Grain

Cedar Grain is done.

I’m really happy with it!  I hope my sister is too.

You’ll notice that it makes me look rather… ample… in the bust department.  This is okay, as I knitted the bodice deliberately small.  The coat is meant for my sister who is…not so ample….  It will look great on her!

I was going to tell you about this lovely yarn, Naturally Aspire (DK), which is the New Zealand equivalent to Jasper Berroco,  the yarn that the pattern was originally knit in.  However, when I recently went to my LYS to have a look at the new season’s colours in this yarn, I learned to my dismay that they no longer make it!!!  Aaargh!!!  How disappointing.

It was such an economical knit too – I only used six balls (600g), as opposed to the eight I thought it would take.  Still, I am pleased I was able to get some of this yarn before it went out of production.

I am quite tempted to knit one for myself, because it is extremely comfortable to wear.  I see that Berroco has also discontinued Jasper, so I’m going to have to hunt for a new single to knit this in. Ooooh! I’ve just had an idea!  Perhaps Zealana Heron?  Now there’s a thought…