Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Planning it out

15 Comments

You all think I’ve gone mad don’t you?  😉

Well, I have my schedule propped in front of me as I type, and it’s kind of reassuring.  This is how I plan to do it:

Week one:  Baby cardigan (25%), socks (75%) and daughter’s top (40%).  The brackets indicate the progress I’ve made on the projects so far.  It’s only Wednesday, so I’m not panicking yet.

Week two:  Woman’s cardigan and socks

Week three:  Girl’s cardigan and socks

Week four:  Girl’s cardigan and a hat

Week five:  a cushion week for any unaccounted for delays

Week six:  Baby pullover and socks

Weeks seven and eight:  Man’s pullover

Week nine:  Start something else… or else have this as another cushion week.

I’m pretty sure that’s it, and I am pretty sure I can do it – there are two buffer weeks in there after all!  I’m hoping it will also give me time to complete a couple of designs I have brewing (as well as do housework).

What you are seeing here is a bit of a released-spring effect.  For the past two months I have been penned in by the school summer holidays.  And now that school has finally started (what a loooooong summer break that one was!), woo hoo!!! I can get on with the knitting thing!!

As you can see, my strategy is to knit one small thing and one large thing at the same time.  By rotating between the two, I will give myself both muscle and mind relief.

The only issue I have at the moment is that my wrists are a bit sore from knitting my daughter’s top.  It’s in cotton.  And that stuff is very.hard.on.the.wrists.  I might have to go slow on it for a bit to give the wrists a rest.

It’s quite an interesting knit.  I don’t really recommend knitting in cotton though.  Aside from the hard-on-wrists aspect, all that decreasing and increasing shows up quite plainly, and wool does a better job of softening those areas.

Here are some of the interesting features of the Sidelines Top by Lou Schiela:

Princess lines.  These are two curving lines going down the length of the body, which have the effect of drawing your eye to the centre of the body.  Very visually slimming.

This is where I’ve got up to on the front.  There are cabled princess lines here, but what is interesting too is the fact that you gradually increase once you have cast on – which is opposite to what one normally does!  See the curving side panel?  That’s all the increases.  And then you decrease (while also decreasing the middle panel) which creates more visual ‘pull in’ and shaping.

I’m fairly sure this top will be extremely flattering to wear.

And now, I’m off to bake a banana cake!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

15 thoughts on “Planning it out

  1. That Sidelines top is simply lovely. Aren’t cables wonderful? They make everything look so classy.

    As for thinking you’ve gone mad, well, likely most of us have been there, done that – so, pot calling the kettle black? Unh unh, not me….

    Last year I managed to knit a beautiful, complex Estonian shawl pattern of laceweight silk in 12 days, which allowed me just enough time for a wash and a good blocking before I was scheduled to wear it. I got it done in time, but my life was ALL about knitting during that period, and nothing – I mean NOTHING – else!

    Admittedly, I’m not the world’s fastest knitter, and I love knitting lace because it’s complex and picky and keeps me absorbed – but when I was finished that little project, I was more than happy to take a wee break!

    So your list of projects? Well, nuts or not, you’re my hero! 🙂

  2. That’s about what I can do in a year!

  3. Well done! Have you thought about rubbing some Arnica cream into those wrists?

  4. That shirt looks very pretty thus far! I’m sure it’ll be much appreciated! Hopefully that Arnica cream stuff will help your wrists a bit. And a banana cake? Sounds yummy! Mind sharing?
    ~Lacey

  5. Seems you’ve it under control.
    Just take care of your wrist, girl
    hugs
    Gerry

  6. Wow, sounds like an ambitious schedule, but you’re one of the fastest knitters I’ve ever seen so I’m sure you’ll fly through it!

    Your daughter’s top sounds lovely. I’d never heard the term “princess lines” before, but they sound so pretty and elegant! Definitely sounds like it’ll make a very flattering top.

  7. Good luck!!
    Also, in urgent need of some decent banana cake/ bread here so please send some over ASAP. The top can wait, your banana bread not so much.

    Xx.

  8. Have you tried craft support gloves? Such as: http://www.handeze.co.uk/
    I don’t know if these are available in New Zealand, I think they are manufactured in America. They are really good for tired wrist joints/repetitive strain and could help with your personal knitting challenge.

    We are having a very cold snap here in the UK and I have just knitted a pair of your Easiest Wrist Warmer for my mother who has arthritis. This pattern is brilliant for for swollen hands, the sideways garter stitch is just perfect. Thanks for the pattern

    • Thanks for the link to the handeze gloves. I’ll squirrel that away at the back of my mind for future reference! I’m so glad the glove pattern has been useful to you. 🙂 Thank you for telling me.

  9. You can do it – a motivated knitter is a force to be reckoned with !!

    Enjoy your banana cake. I bought a bunch of bananas hoping some would go bad for a cake but they are not black enough yet – I had to make ginger cake instead (with black treacle – very apt for the cold UK weather)

    kb

  10. I knitted a lot with cotton because where I live there’s not too many choices in yarn and because I like how soft it is. In my experience the wrist pain last up to two days and haven’t find anything that makes it go away instantly, but keeping and moving the sore wrist under warm water does help. Princess line sounds like something I would like to try. The color you chose is so calming.

  11. Is this lavender yarn a cotton? I have always liked this pattern. The neckline is really lovely and the shape is so good for we larger busted women. It is very flattering. gosh you have set yourself a good challenge there, all the best but i am sure you will romp in with time to spare 🙂

    • It’s Panda cotton blend (the lighting was bad the day I took the photos – it’s more of a magenta pink. I think Panda does have a lavender colour though).