Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Tilt

13 Comments

According to the calendar, Autumn in this part of the world is not due for another two weeks.  According to the sun, it’s here.  I’ll take the sun’s word for it.

From where I live, I can see the sun set every night.  In summer, the sun sets at a certain point behind the hills, and in winter, it sets at another point (quite far away from the other point!)  I’ve noticed this week that the sun has suddenly started setting at its winter point.  How the earth can so dramatically tilt all of a sudden is quite startling!  I’ve been watching for a gradual edging of the sun towards its winter point, but this doesn’t seem to be how it works – it’s just suddenly… there.

I’ve joined two pictures so you can see – the sun on the left is the summer set, taken a couple of weeks ago.  The sunset on the right is the winter set, taken this week.  The hill, joined in the two photos, gives you the panoramic view and the correct placement of the sunsets.

The days are shorter now.  The grass is heavy with dew in the mornings, the morning air has just the slightest nip to it, the sunlight just ever so slightly less intense.  The cicadas, having so recently emerged from their long childhoods in the ground, are heartily sing their final serenade before they fall to the earth spent, having tucked the next generation safely in the warm earth.

Personally, I prefer winter.  I like the crisp frosty mornings, the cold air, the low slant of the sun.  It suits me.  Snugly rugged up in happy knits of warm wool and possum, the contrast between outside cold and cocooned warmth is invigorating!

We don’t get hard winters of snow and ice in Wellington (four days of snow last year was a record) although I for one, would be rather excited if we got more of that this year!

Better on get with ordering that firewood.  If only I can stop…knitting…socks…

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

13 thoughts on “Tilt

  1. It always amazes me how much the position of the sun changes. Hope you have a lovely weekend. I am wishing my day away due to looking forward to Tuesday, a whole day working in the wool shop!!!!!!!!!

    Like a child in a sweetie shop!!

  2. It looks beautiful down your way! My favourite season is Autumn – it feels full of possibility… having said that, I am looking forward to the Spring blossoms this year. Roll on WARM!
    You’ve inspired me – I’ve started some socks for my lovely sister!

  3. The change in the sunset is incredible! You’re fortunate to live at a point where you can witness such a change. I’m thoroughly impressed at your ability to zip through your WIPs the way you do! Starting in March I am determined to learn to knit socks. Yours look so neat and snuggly too! Enjoy the cooler weather!
    ~Lacey

    • This is the first place I’ve ever lived where I’ve been able to pinpoint the sunset. I had been aware of the sun’s tilt, but this is the first time I’ve ever been able to see it for myself – fascinating! Socks are actually a lot simpler than they sound. The trick I think is to get a good starter’s guide. Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s Knitting Rules! book was my starter guide, and it’s still the only reference I like to knit to – socks are my ‘I’m not thinking, just knitting’ projects. I think you’ll enjoy hand knitting your socks. 🙂

  4. I suppose we’re never satisfied! (Sigh) I think you’d like Colorado, with 6 months of winter and lots of snow. It’s always good knitting weather here. Just wait till after sundown in the summer. Counting the days until spring, althoug I’m not sure why – it’s our snowiest season, but it melts faster.

  5. I’ve spent a good part of this winter wrapped in your Sylvia Shawl, and love it!! It did get tedious at the end, but I’d read your blog about forcing yourself to finish it, and persevered. It’s almost too beautiful to use around the house/office, but can’t be resisted.

  6. I love winter too! I’m glad I’m not alone. And you’ve been bitten by the sock bug! It was only a matter of time 🙂

  7. During the month of February we will have gained 67 minutes of daylight ! ! !
    That’s a noticeable difference.

    I’ve marked our living room window sill with the sun’s movement through the seasons.

    I have an exciting life . . lol

    hugs
    Gerry

  8. Autumn is making is presence felt here in my little part of Australia…there’s a definite coolness in the evening breeze, and the mornings are deliciously chilly! Love the yarn you’re knitting your socks with 🙂

  9. I’m a huge fan of spring and autumn, followed by winter, then summer. Autumn is indeed great knitting weather, I love the feeling of racing the dropping temperatures with hats and gloves. Beautiful socks!

    I actually bought the Yarn Harlot book after seeing some of the socks that you made. Thank you.