Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life


19 Comments

It must be award season

From time to time, a fellow blogger will pass me an award.  It’s lovely to get, and I feel flattered that someone thinks my writing good enough for an award.  It’s especially nice in those moments of self-doubt, when one thinks “I might as well stop blogging and who wants to read my stupid blog anyway!”

The first time I received an award (it may even have been the Versatile Blogger, I can’t remember now), I had just chanced upon a somewhat scathing discussion about blog awards in general that made me feel that they were a form of chain mail and that I might cause offence by passing along.   I suppose the basic reasoning was right – pass along an award, say you have to give it to 15 others, they do the same, and before you know it, everyone has the award! Hmm.  I’ve certainly noticed that the Versatile Blogger award is cropping up rather regularly in my blog readings!

Now there’s also ‘tagging’ – an example of which you can see in Lily’s super Making it Vintage blog.  No pretty award that goes with it.  Goodness – it seems all rather a lot of work, and I think I rather share Lily’s sentiments on the subject.

The other day, the lovely Lacey over at MinaandMe awarded me the Versatile Blogger award.  Thank you Lacey!  :-)

I have been wondering what I should make of this given my thoughts above – it feels churlish to ignore the award (again) and more importantly, Lacey’s valued opinion.  So I have decided to accept it for the following reasons.

I thought about the good points of an award:

1.  It is a genuine form of recognition from one blogger to another.

2.  It is a heart-warming thing to receive an award.  Especially when you know it’s genuinely presented.

3.  You get to know the recipient better, because they are asked to say seven things about themselves that you might not otherwise know.

4.  The recipient have to refer to 15 other blogs (and the one whom they received the award from in the first place) which is a really nice way of introducing nice blogs you might not know about otherwise.

I’ve noticed the rules change according to who passes the award along, but that’s the basic premise.

The above points are good enough in themselves I think, and so I am not ungrateful for this recognition.

Still, I am uncomfortable about passing this award along because I do not want to inadvertently cause offence (some people can be very negatively opinionated and I’m not in the right frame for criticism at this moment).  Maybe I’m being unusually sensitive around this matter.

So, like Lily, I’m going to be a rule bender.

I have been meaning to share some really inspirational blogs that I have found recently or read regularly with you (I won’t list the obvious superstars – you know them all already anyway):

Spinning in the Wind (a recent immigrant to New Zealand who writes about living in, and exploring New Zealand.  I thought you’d find her interesting because she writes about New Zealand from the eyes of a visitor/new arrival, and it’s a refreshing read.  I wish I had her opportunities for exploring this country!)

Photobot (Seriously.amazing.photos.)

Bear Ears (You may have seen her comments on this blog.  I’ve been following Audry almost since she started designing, and I love her design work and the bits of her life that she shares.  We’ve got to know each other a little bit outside of the blogging sphere too.  She is a lovely example of how you can make friends from blogging.)

Project:  Stash (Many of you already follow the warm and bubbly Evelyn.  She has once nominated me for this award, but I was too shy/uncomfortable to accept it.  She’s another whom I have got to know outside of blogging and now consider a friend.  Our shared last names hint at a common ancestry, which wouldn’t be surprising.  Evelyn has also posted about some lovely bloggers that she follows, and rather than repeat them here (because I read them too now) I’ll direct you to her original words).

Let’s be Friends, Let’s be Amie (Last week, Amie shared this very, very funny video by WEBS.  You have to watch it – it is hilarious:

I haven’t laughed so much for a long time.)

Minspiration (I have referred to this lovely blog before, but I do love Mia’s posts.)

Hangs by a Thread (this is the blog of a NZ fibre artist, Doe Arnot.  She happens to also be the dyer for Flagstaff Alpacas, and contributes significantly to the Oamaru Textile Emporium.   She’s a talented spinner, weaver, knitter and dyer.  Her posts are intelligent, humourous and well thought out.  She also has a pretty kitty.)

Truly Myrtle (this is a new blog written by an expat NZ’er living in the UK.  She’s passionate about hand crafts in general, and has a lovely writing style.  Check out this post of her recent entry into a sewing competition – she designed and sewed the entire ensemble!  I’m impressed.)

Ramblings (I’ve only just recently started to read Becky’s posts.  Her patterns have been published in Twist Collective and Tangled, to name a couple.  I like the variety of topics she covers.)

Other bloggers whom I also enjoy but who don’t post as regularly as the above include:

Compositions of wool (this girl loves yarn as much as me!)

Elephantjuice Knits  (beautiful knitting, she’s a prolific sock and shawl knitter extraordinaire.  I especially loved her post about the Ishbel that she knitted from silk hankies – so purty!)

Kreachr (a fellow Kiwi knitter who blogs about her family life and knitting (she loves socks, and knits them at supersonic speed).

Baa-me Knits (Jenni lives in tropical Queensland and she still loves all things wool and knitting.  Check out the cutest little kitty who has come to live with them.  He reminds me of the baby Roly).

I think that’s enough!

If any of you wonderful people want to take the award and put it on your blog, please regard this as a genuine recognition of your talents.  If you’d rather not accept it, I totally understand.

The other rules of the award (besides listing seven things about yourself and nominating 15 other blogs) are:

1.  Let the person who’ve awarded know you have nominated them.

2.  Link back to the person who nominated you.

3.  List this set of rules.

As for the information about me.   I’m an extremely private person, but I think I can share this with you:

1.  My ultimate dream is to live on a small, very private and wooded holding deep in the country, where you get proper snowy winters – going to long walks, growing most of my food, raising chickens (and maybe the odd sheep) and knitting (of course).

2.  If I were to take up any more interests, I think I’d like to explore photography in more depth, and experiment with weaving.

3.  My childhood was spent living in Malaysia.  I’ve travelled and lived outside of New Zealand for most of my life.  Malaysia, Indonesia, Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Macau, Thailand, Singapore, Tokyo, France, Germany, England, Wales, Scotland, New York, Australia, New Caledonia.  There’s probably a couple I’ve forgotten.  I’d like to revisit a few of those countries and places and explore more.  Hopefully one day!

4.  I love spicy, hot food.  Thai food has to be some of my favourite (my mouth is watering just thinking about it!).

5.  My favourite fruit is the durian (that lovely creamy, sweet flesh).  It’s about the size of a football and is entirely covered in thick spines.  Open with care to find the flesh contained in separate segments within the fruit.  Some people think it smells like a skunk run over by a rubbish truck.  You either love it or hate it.  It’s a delicacy in Malaysia.

6.  I find history (mostly history of something, like knitting.  Or the English language) and mythology fascinating.  It’s the thing I read about most these days.

7.  I learned to crochet before I learned to knit.

Well, I think that’s enough for now!  I hope you’re having a lovely weekend.