Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life


16 Comments

Two down, how many to go?

I must painfully admit to a lack of discipline with the projects for my 9 weeks of knitting.

Many of the projects are almost done.  In fact, both Gemma and the baby cardi are finished but for the lack of a sleeve.  But then something happens, and I just have to cast on for another!  I feel a little like one of the kids visiting Willy Wonka’s magical candy factory – and not knowing which sweet to try next.

What happened in this case is:  The other night, I was sitting at my desk, and I’d finished with the day’s emailing and blogging, and it was time to get out the knitting.  One snag:  I had a purry, sleeping cat on my lap.  And all my projects were on a chair.  Over there.

The kitty was getting some undeserved sympathy.  He had been very naughty the night before, and refused to answer the call to come in for the night.  As a result, he got into an enormous cat fight in the night (I heard it!), and had showed up some time during the middle of the next day looking rather worse for wear, and very sorry for himself.   He’d been scratched across the nose, had a couple of deep claw punctures on his hind quarters and was limping.

Fortunately, all he needed was some good food, plenty of cuddles and lots of sleep on a nice, warm lap, and he’s now back to his usual self.  I just hope none of those punctures abscess.

Anyway, I digress.  So, here I was with a sleeping, not-to-be-disturbed cat on my lap and no access to the knitting in progress.  What to do?  At the back of my working area, I keep my basket of projects-in-queue, all ready to go on the needles.  And out of this basket, I drew the next thing to knit, a little puffed sleeve cardi for my niece.

Here is Roly, purring away, supervising my photo shoot of the project (you can barely see the scratch on his nose now):

The cardi is quite a fast knit.  Small things are (it’s a 6 – 7 yr old size).

I love this soft, green tea shade of green.  It should go very well with my niece’s red hair.  Annoyingly, I only have four balls of this colour, and even though it’s a short-sleeved thing, I have a nasty suspicion that I need one more ball.  I have a ball of creamy beige in the same yarn, so I will probably do the sleeves and button bands in the contrasting colour if I have to.

Ah dear me.  Will I ever actually finish a project??

I have to say I have got a lot of pleasure out of knitting this little cardi though.  The yarn is a merino/cashmere blend, so soft, and squishy, and so pretty to look at, and the knitting is of the mindless variety that I’m favouring at the moment (Gemma continues to be a pain – I will tell you about it in another post).  Stocking stitch is my ‘zen’ knitting.  There’s a rhythmic ‘swish click, swish click’ that lulls one into a meditative state, and creates a peaceful, happy state.

Six weeks to go!