Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Peace

22 Comments

It’s a gorgeously still and warm evening, a beautiful start to the weekend.  The French doors are open, the vivid sunset has just faded.  The little moreporks (New Zealand owl) are filling the air with their calls as they awake for a night of hunting.  We haven’t had an evening like this all summer.  Now it’s autumn, and the weather has finally become settled.  I feel a peace and serenity that I haven’t felt for a long time.

I’m not sure why I’ve been so reticent about telling you some fairly major news.  I suspect it’s a worry that Sod’s Law would change things on me.  However, I think I can now confidently tell you that I have managed to finally(!) fill a large piece of the puzzle to my life:  I have got a job!  (The happy screaming you heard a week or two back  would have been me).

I’ve been facing the only period of “under employment” in my entire life for the past two years, and it has not been fun at all.  I say ‘under employment’ with some irony.  How underemployed can the mother of a young family be?  However, from a financial point of view, it’s a very welcome relief to have this job.  It is also doing wonders for my own sense of self-worth, confidence and happiness at once again being able to provide materially for my family.

People, do you realise what this also means though??  It means that I can go yarn adventuring once again and tell you about more pretty yarns! Ooooooh, it’s so exciting!!

Some people buy a nice bottle of wine (or bubbly) to celebrate a success.  Knitters do this:

I suppose it’s the same colour as the liquid celebration.  😉

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

22 thoughts on “Peace

  1. Fantastic!!! Congratulations!! Hope it is a job you will really enjoy as well. I totally agree with the yarn purchase. If your happy you buy yarn, sad you buy yarn, anxious – yep, you buy yarn!!

    C xx

  2. congratulations!! 🙂 and i too like to celebrate success with yarn:) thanks for the reminder, i can totally justify my latest yarn purchase since i just finished another class:) whoo hoo! 🙂

  3. Congratulations! Luscious new yarn… enjoy!

  4. Congratulations! And yep yarn shopping to celebrate is the best!

  5. Congrats and best wishes! It sounds like you’re really excited 🙂 I hope you truly enjoy your new job. A little extra “me money” is certainly something to put a smile on one’s face!
    ~Lacey

  6. Congratulations ! I hope your new job is fun to do and such 🙂

  7. Congratulations! The only drawback is that while you probably have more money for yarn, you now have less time to knit. 😦 Be gentle with yourself. 🙂 Good luck with the job, and have fun!

  8. Yay! Hope all goes well with the new work!

  9. Congratulations!!! Ooh, I envy you your yarn money, but to be honest, I’m actually more jealous about the fact that you have moreporks in your neighbourhood. I love listening to native birds, and very much miss the tuis that used to be everywhere in Wellington. Up here, particularly where we live, there’s not much in the way of native birds at all (although the zoo has an excellent native forest enclosure choc-full of birds). There’s a dove next door I think…

    Enjoy your new job, and the yarn that comes with it (indirectly).

  10. Congrats! Although I hope the job doesn’t take too much time away from your knitting.

  11. congratulations, that is wonderful news, I remember our conversations of old and am very pleased for you, hope it is all you want it to be.

  12. Congratulations! I wish you to have great time at work.
    That deep red is such a pretty color, it will be a nice touch to any outfit.

  13. Congrats! I hope your job brings you the comfort, security and stimulation you need… and lots and lots of pretty yarn! 🙂

  14. You deserve this … and more!

  15. Lovely to read of your anticipation of being back in the work force. Being a mum is such hard work. We need “real” work to give us a break!

  16. Congrats, gal. So happy for ya.
    [btw, we heard a commotion all the way here to mid-America, whodda thought it would be your celebrating]
    speaking of celebrating, what better than a yarn treat ! ! ! ! !
    hugs
    Gerry

  17. Beautiful photo!

    Congratulations 🙂 Enjoy your new job and your lovely new yarn!

  18. How wonderful for you! That is the best news, I am so glad you shared with us. Then we can all send positive thoughts and love out to you on your new journey.
    Perfect way to celebrate with new yarn-less calories! 🙂

  19. Congrats on the new job! What will you be doing?

  20. Congratulations from Germany as well: I read your post just after my husband got a phonecall where he got told to have a new job!!!
    My feelings of happyness is with you too.
    And I have to admit, my first say to my man was, great so I can do some shopping now again!!!!
    And he knows that shopping means wool shopping:
    Possum wool on cones!!!!!!!!
    Greetingsto you
    Christiane