Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Possum + cashmere = superb

9 Comments

This is a yarn I have been eyeing for a while since I discovered it lying on the virtual shelf at Mohair Craft.

It’s a DK weight 60% merino, 20% possum, 20% cashmere blend.  Now that I have some disposable income, these babies came home to mama!!  Hehehehe!!!

I was so over-excited about this purchase as I hovered over it on the screen that I couldn’t decide what colour to get, so I asked the little man (who has great colour sense) to choose one for me.  And so lavender it was.  I rather liked the ruby and fern colours too… but I decided to just try a little bit first to see how it performed.

What am I going to do with this yarn?  Well, there is the matter of a small fetish happening with the Age of Brass and Steam Shawlette.  I can’t stop thinking about knitting another one…  This yarn is soooo soft, and sooo squooshy and sooo light that I think it would be perfect as a shawl/scarf thing.  I only have 200g of this yarn as well, just enough for a nice, drapey thing for the neck.

I’m trying to give the yarn the decency of not balling and swatching it before it’s even been in the house for 24 hours… can I resist????  Ahhh.  It’s nice to be able to buy yarn again. 😀

If you’re wondering how I’m going with my nine week progress, I finished the striped cardigan today.  I just need to sew the sleeves into the body and affix the buttons, and then I will show you!

I have one baby hoodie left to knit, one pair of socks, a hat and an adult sweater.  I do not think I’ll get to finish the adult sweater in the next three weeks.  It might be half done by the time it’s time to go, but who knows?  It’s a chunky knit after all and I should still have a couple of weeks up my sleeve.  Oh, who am I kidding? It’s not going to happen, but I know it will be started by that time.

However, I have added to the list:  two shawls.  There has been happy news once again, and another wee nephew or niece is on the way (the clan is sprouting like mushrooms!)  I’ve decided that a nursing shawl is a very good gift, so another one must be knit.  The second is a gift to go with the cardigan that I will reknit when I find the right yarn for it.

And so, on this note, off to happy knitting land I go!

Hope you are having a lovely start to the week!  We’ve got strong gales and rain in the North Island today, but that’s really all ok when you’re a knitter…

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

9 thoughts on “Possum + cashmere = superb

  1. Oooooo that yarn!!!! I just HAVE to get my hands on some!!!
    I heard about the terrible weather – it has been a funny old summer for your guys eh?
    We are getting lighter and lighter over here – thank goodness…
    I love shawls and have had my eye on a rather beautiful hap shawl in one of the old Rowan magazines for a while, the colours particularly are fab. It’s in Rowan tween so all muted and delicious….doesn’t warrant another baby for…but maybe I’ll just do it anyway : )

  2. i never thought of using a shawl for nursing! awesome idea, and perfect excuse for me to knit something for myself:)

  3. I’ve never heard of a nursing shawl before. Makes sense though! Adding a couple shawls to your list isn’t too bad a thing I think. I really like that one you are itching to make out of your squishy looking new yarn! As usual, your knitting rate baffles me. I hope you’re able to get everything done that needs done by the necessary dates! Best of luck and don’t ever forget, knitting is supposed to be fun, not stressful! 🙂
    ~Lacey

  4. This is a gorgeous colour!
    Possum? Really? How did they get that fibre?

  5. Possum and cashmere? That’s a match made in heaven. Your “little man” really does have great color sense. The lavender is just lovely.

  6. I would love to get my mitts on that yarn … can’t wait to hear what you think of it knitted up. A nursing shawl is such a lovely idea. Wish I had when my two were wee ones. I may just have to join you in knitting the Age of Brass and Steel as I’m itching to cast on another shawl, too. It’s soooo pretty.

    • I’m dying to knit it up too! I’m very interested to see how much the possum fibre blooms when washed.

      Memories of sitting up at night, in the cold, shivering away while feeding mine when they were babies made me think of knitting one when my sister had her first last year. It was very popular, and she ended up also using it as a baby blanket during the day!

  7. Ooh – another local yarn shop! Thanks for that 🙂

  8. Pingback: addi-turbo lace VS. hiya-hiya sharp needles | A Tangled Yarn