Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Pumpkin

16 Comments

This is Pumpkin.  The last wee knit I’m doing for the family reunion.

It isn’t much to look at the moment, but I’m hopeful I’ll make some serious progress on it this weekend.  I love the yarn I’m using.  It’s an organic New Zealand merino called Treliske Organic,  in a natural brown and cream marl.  Some merino fleece must have a very short staple when it is spun, resulting in a slightly fuzzy yarn (which then pills badly).  This merino must have long staples, because it is not at all ‘catchy’ on the hand, yet retains its beautiful softness.  From how it has performed in a vest for my son, it doesn’t pill either.  It’s not super wash.  I really like it.  Sometimes superwash yarns can be awfully splitty because the way the scales on the wool fibres have been ‘cemented’ down (to create the superwash performance) means the different plies don’t hold together well when you knit the yarn.  It can also be annoyingly too slippery.  (Sock yarn seems to escape this fate.  Perhaps it’s because it’s super twisted?)

This little hoodie is gratifyingly fast to knit.  Since I took this photo, I’ve used up that ball you see in the photo, and started another.

I have been very slothful over the finishing of the Striped Cardigan:

I’ve been afflicted with an annoying cold/cough thing this week, which hasn’t been conducive to doing fiddly things like sewing seams (excuses, excuses!)  Can you see the lovely halo of the possum yarn in this photo?  It’s going to be a very warm, cuddly and soft cardigan, and I hope my niece likes it!  It’s a nice pattern for possum yarn – it is cropped, quite roomy, and has 3/4 length sleeves, which means plenty of ventilation and comfort for an active child, while keeping her warm at the same time.

More on this cardi when I force myself to sew in the sleeves and put in the buttons!

We’re in for more wet, horrid weather this weekend.  I am hoping this translates into quality knitting time.  I am missing the knitting!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

16 thoughts on “Pumpkin

  1. I’m planning to hole up during the wet weekend and work on the wrap cardi I’m making for my newborn baby niece… how odd to be looking forward to a horrible weather weekend! I’ve been overwhelmed with work recently and I too am missing the knitting. Stay warm, dry, cozy and happy knitting, my friend! 🙂

  2. That yarn is gorgeous. I have a real soft spot for natural colours. One step closer to the sheep. 😀

  3. Pumpkin is going to look so cute in that colourway 🙂

  4. I can’t believe the weather you’ve been having — hope it does translate into cozy knitting with tea and a roaring fire to absorb the damp. I absolutely love your striped cardigan — the combination of grey, red, & white is perfect and I can see the halo effect from the possum. It’s such a beauty … I only hope you can have photos of your wee one taken in it so we can see. Let’s “chat” over the weekend. xo

    • It’s been atrocious. I haven’t been to the beach for so long!! Next fine day I think I will bundle the boys into the car and go for a nice walk along the rocks.

  5. You’re cruising right along with your projects 🙂 I’m curious to see how that brown/white yarn will knit up. I was given a big bag of yarn that looks similar to that, but in gray and white. I have no idea what to do with it since I’ve never seen a project done with spotty yarn like that! The striped cardi looks wonderful. I hope you get to feeling better and you have a productive weekend indoors!
    ~Lacey

    • When I first got the yarn, I wasn’t too sure either. But it actually looks quite nice. Grey and white is even better. Do a small swatch of your yarn, and you’ll soon get a good idea of what it will look like knitted and what project it will suit. I’m looking forward to settling down with my knitting this afternoon!

  6. I love holing up inside in wet weather with a book and some knitting! It’s my idea of a perfect day 🙂

    Both those projects are looking fabulous! You always choose the most beautifully cosy looking yarns 🙂

  7. Sending you “be well!” energy. 🙂 And I hope you can enjoy some knitting time.

  8. Weather is miserable here too. Ideal for knitting but I have been invited out so the knitting will have to wait. I have to be careful not to fall into the trap of staying at home just to get my knitting done! 🙂

  9. I’m still plagued by the cough from my could about 3 weeks ago! Doesn’t stop me from working on my knit projects though…

  10. I want to wear that cardi. It looks so cozy! It’s been raining in my neck of the woods as well, which is just great for knitting!