Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

A good weekend

17 Comments

Two little projects got ‘done and dusted’ this weekend.

I’m looking forward to seeing them on their recipients.

So pleased I managed to find the cutest buttons:

Pumpkin (Kim Hargreaves) is knitted in Treliske Organic merino.

The Striped Cardigan (Debbie Bliss) is knitted in The Wool Company Merino Possum in the Tamarillo, Natural and Coffee colourways.  Coffee is no longer available which is a pity.  However, new season colours are coming out soon: it will be interesting  to see if any additional colourways are added.

The possum cardigan is knitted for an eight year old girl.  What is interesting is that I did the entire cardigan with only 300gms of possum yarn (1 ball each of natural and coffee and 2 balls of tamarillo, but there was a lot left over of the coffee and tamarillo – enough at least for a hat and some more).  In contrast, Pumpkin took 5 balls (250gms) of pure wool, yet it is sized for a one to two-year old.

The possum is so soft and snuggly and light.  I have a severe case of ‘I-want-my-own-now’!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

17 thoughts on “A good weekend

  1. They look great – and the mouse buttons are just fantastic!
    I’d rather fancy a snuggly cardy in possum too…now there’s a thought?!

  2. Great effort – you must be knitting up a storm at the moment.
    I especially like the striped cardigan – it is so, so gorgeous

    • There’s nothing like a nice bit of knitting to soothe the nerves and bring on that happy feeling. 🙂 The stripey cardi has come out so beautifully. I’m really pleased with it too.

  3. Me too. I love that striped sweater so much. And the pockets are the perfect touch.

  4. Gorgeous! Well done! In contrast, I have ripped apart a cardigan I’ve been working on for ages for my niece (who I’m meeting in a couple of weeks.) I kept making mistakes and I’m just not happy with it… so I’m hunting for a cute pattern. 🙂

  5. i love them ! especially the striped one!!!

  6. The 2 sweaters are so cute – I love them both. I’ve knit with possum before and think its great. I made a pair of mittens with Kiwi (which is a possum blend), it was so nice to work with. You’ve inspired me to try to finish something up today! I have 11 projects on the needles and I am wanting to start something new – I think I’ll make a promise to myself not to cast on for something until I’ve bound off something else! GREAT WORK!

  7. Now you’re making me want to try working with possum yarn!

  8. oh, they are both adorable!

  9. Love the Pumpkin pullover! Perfect for a chilly day. 🙂

  10. Great items. So cute and they look fantastic. Such sweet buttons 🙂

  11. They both look ace ! And that mouse button… so cute !
    And I agree, makes one want to knit with possum yarn too… very curious.. too bad my LYS doesn’t have some.. ( or anyplace else in this country, far as I know.. )

  12. OH – wow, SO cute! I especially love the striped one. I’m on a bit of a striped kick right now and the colors are perfect. What a lucky recipient.

  13. These are both so beautiful. I would love to knit something in the possum yarn but I must use all the wool I have first! Must get to work on that stash.

  14. Both look fantastic! I especially love the stripes. Possum is so scrumptious!
    That’s a shame that the Coffee colour is discontinued – I used it to make a beanie hat for my singing teacher (he prefers natural colours).