Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The.last.sock

15 Comments

I hope you’re having a wonderful Easter break wherever you are.

Wellington is experiencing a beautiful Easter weekend – still (not windy!), sunny, perfectly cool, but not cold temperatures.

Today, I wanted to go here.  The hills looked soooo tempting, and just right for an amble in the woods:

But someone said it would be boring.  Sigh.  Instead, we went here:

It was a fine compromise.  I didn’t get much walking done, as I waited for someone to run up and down the beach, play tag with the waves, scratch in the sand and make tracks with sticks. It was nice to just sit and listen to the waves and enjoy the fresh air in any event.

A little knitting may have been involved:

It’s the very.last.sock!!  And then, I’m all done with my nine week knitting project! I’ve been having fun looking at patterns I want to knit next.  It’s going to be pure, selfish, me knitting.  Leisurely, deadline-free knitting.  There may be a shawl or two planned.  And perhaps a cabled thing.  Maybe a cardigan.

It’s going to be great.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

15 thoughts on “The.last.sock

  1. Glad that other people have people saying things will be boring :)
    Fantastic that you’ve nearly finished – what a fab pile you must have made! Will you take a photo of the stack? Should be a goodie :)

    • Yes, I will do a stack pic. I couldn’t wait to hand out the wee fair isle cardi as I saw my brother and his family recently, but the rest will be represented. :D

  2. Ahhhh trees, they win for me every time ;-) I live by the sea and long for trees. As compromises go though it’s not a bad one. It would be great as trulymyrtle says to see photos of the nine – week – stack … laid out as well would be good to see. Well done you!

    Wishing you all the Joys and Blessings of Easter.

    • I have a sneaky plan for the trees. There are two days left of holiday after all… hehe.

      • That just isn’t fair! You know wondering about that is going to drive me to distraction! You could drop me a private email and let me know…please! ;-) Then you could let me know if you were ever able to do anything about getting the link I sent you re the Amazon Watch out there to more people! After reading your lovely email we definitely have the same thoughts on that type of thing. I hope you are having a lovely Easter. It’s cold and wet here but too little too late … we already have drought conditions and water restrictions here in the south East!! ;-( ;-(

  3. Happy Easter!! Hope you have a fabulous weekend. You are an amazing knitter! I would love to just watch you knit, I know I would be mesmerized!!
    xoRobin❤

    • I agree with mynestofyarnandbuttons (great name by the way) it would be great to see the knitting in progress. It must be super fast, you seem to achieve so much in such a short time! I know I have asked before but how do you do it?

      • I don’t think I’m that fast. I timed myself once, and I knit at an average speed of about 60 stitches a minute. It’s a reasonable speed, but not super fast I think? I was slower, but when I started blogging, I had to speed up so that I had fodder for the blog! :O I usually knit for about two hours every day. More if I have the energy and capacity. It all adds up.

      • Hmmm…I have never timed myself. Is that about average? I don’t know. Do you think it is possibly because you are very organised … disciplined? I started a jumper in Rowan’s ‘Revive’ and as lovely as it is, it resembles knitting with string! I had the back knitted up to the arms and one sleeve knitted up to the decreases … it’s only short, from just below the elbow up… then I made a mistake , on the back with the decreases I think. I then became discouraged and put it to one side; for sometime.

        I then lost the book that the pattern was in! I turned my house upside down all to no avail. I mentioned this to the lovely lady in the knitting shop I go to (run by a mother and daughter) they didn’t have any more copies of that particular Rowan book. I even contacted Rowan hoping for an individual copy of the pattern. When I next went in to said shop, they had found a copy of the elusive Rowan book at home and had photocopied it for me …certain that my missing book would now turn up, which it did!!

        I was so eager to cast on, get going and finish this jumper, it was after all, a year ago exactly that I started it! I cast on with the sleeve and flew along rapidly…not your sort of rapidly you understand…when I look at the sleeve that I did before it became clear that I sort of did my own thing a bit…and can’t quite work out what it was! I have cast on the front so many times now. I knit about four rows having tried to ignore what I can spy out of my eye. Intermittent baggy loopy stitches on the cast on!! Grrr!!! This is of course why my stocking stitch is so neat. I have after all done so much of it as when I start shaping of something things tend to go awry… hey ho! It is a lovely pattern and might be a nice choice for your ‘office attire’ and I am sure you would have it finished in a week or less. So…here is a picture of it http://www.knitrowan.com/designs-and-patterns/patterns/flourish-0 I hope you like it.

        Everyone now knows just how unproductive and inefficient I am to everyone here I suspect.

        I am sorry for the long post, I didn’t intend it to be but it all just came flooding back to me once I started. Maybe you have a way of removing it.

        Truly I am going but just wanted to ask have you heard of a woman form Shetland, Hazel Tindall? Her speed is 262 stitches in 3 minutes! I may as well hang up my needles now!

      • I’m not sure, but I think it’s Hazel Tindall who holds the current speediest knitter in the world title. So as you can see, 60 stitches a minute isn’t so fast! ;-) I love your jumper – you should persevere. I suspect it’s the cotton/silk yarn you’re using that’s making it hard to knit (no give!) Perhaps it will even out when you block it? Knitting is meant to be fun, and you should never compare yourself against anyone. If I did that, I’d hang up my needles right now too! Thanks for your lovely comment. :-)

  4. Beautiful. Makes me miss NZ! Congratulations on almost completing your 9 week project. I can’t wait to see a wrap up!

  5. Love the photo of the knitting and the sand. :-)

  6. Or maybe one of each item. We haven’t seen any shawls recently. I’d love to see what you come up with.

  7. Sorry you didn’t make it to the wooded hills but lovely to be outdoors by the ocean, I’m sure. Congrats on your 9- week challenge! Looking forward to seeing your purely selfish knitting.