Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

9 weeks end

14 Comments

My family reunion has come and gone, and what a lovely weekend it was!

We drove up to the Central Plateau in driving rain and in the dark.  Not my favourite driving weather.  Four hours later we arrived, very glad to still be in one piece.

The next day dawned a brilliant Autumn day.  One of those warm, sunny, still days where you couldn’t ask for more perfect weather.

We decided to go up the mountain (Mt Ruapehu – Tongariro National Park) and take the chair lift to see the view.

No snow yet, but it was nice.  It was crisp, and the perfect temperature for me. I’d love to do more walking there one day – the Tongariro Crossing in particular looks very inviting.

For those who don’t know, Tongariro National Park features three volcanoes.  The one we were on is Mt Ruapehu, where most of the ski action in the North Island takes place in winter.

It was so wonderful reconnect with family whom I hadn’t seen in over 10 years, and catch up with family whom I don’t see nearly often enough.

In the end, I never got to do a ‘pile’ pic, so I’ve done a collage instead:

It doesn’t really seem that much put together.  I blame going to work for not getting more knitting time to reknit the cardigan and the pullover I was planning.

Cadeau turned into a cadeau for my sister, instead of the cardigan.  I got her to try Gemma on and it’s too tight across her shoulders, even though the rest of it fits perfectly.  I’m glad I didn’t go to the trouble of finishing it.  I’ll knit it for her again in a different yarn and with modifications to fit her measurements.)

I have a small confession:  I lost track of the time, and got distracted by the lovely Prairie Rose Shawl.  As a result, one brother got one sock, and the twin is still 2/3 complete (as in pic!)  I’ll send them to him in the post when they’re done.

By the way, I’ve restored Cadeau into a free pattern.  I haven’t sold a single copy of this, so I figured I may as well just make it available to those who’d like to knit it, rather than have it sitting there, a wasted effort of design.

I’ll finish with some of my favourite pics from the weekend:

(Some of us were most used to the temperatures than others…)

Isn’t he just the cutest baby?

One of the best things about going up to the Central Plateau is that you go right past the “Temple of Yarn”  (aka The Wool Company).  Of course I had to do homage on the way home:

The finishing touch to a perfect weekend.  I had to include a purring Roly in the pic.  He was so pleased to see us home that he hasn’t left my side for a minute since we got in the door!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

14 thoughts on “9 weeks end

  1. I think your collage of knits is pretty significant. I don’t know if I could knit that much in nine weeks without damaging myself.
    (Maybe you need to make the pictures bigger to make it feel like more?)

    And new yarn? Very exciting. What will the next project be?

  2. You managed to knit more in 9 weeks than I have knit in a year lol! I loved the photos, especially the one of the kids all together. Looks like some yummy additions to your stash too 🙂

  3. Sounds lovely – everyone looks happy 🙂
    Your collage is pretty impressive – that is a LOT of knitting!
    I haven’t been to the Temple of Yarn – clearly it is a must see by the size of that bag 🙂

  4. That’s a ton of knitting! I have very little to show for my efforts over the past few months, aside from a pair of socks (that were my saving grace for my cold toes in Feilding just recently!) I also went past The Wool Company and did a spot of shopping there – I was VERY close to buying that same delicious yellow wool. I may have a few designs in mind for Christmas that I’ll just HAVE to get wool for too. 🙂 Glad to see everyone enjoyed the reunion!

  5. Congratulation on accomplishing your goal (that -1/3 of a sock doesn’t count because you were knitting sth else, so in fact you could have done it if you wanted to)! You have a nice family with cute kids.

  6. Really glad you had such a wonderful time xx

  7. Looks like you had a great time and getting as much done as you did is amazing!

  8. What a beautiful family! You completed tons of knitting, all which is more lovely than the next. I can’t see what becomes of that fantastic bag of yarns..

  9. Am so happy you had a good time! 🙂 And congrats on bringing back “blessings” from the temple! lol

  10. what a wonderful time you had and your work looks so really great on each of your lovely family members.

  11. I love seeing these photos and getting a glimpse at your family — it looks like you all had the nicest time together. As for your knitting, you are amazing!!

  12. Can’t wait to get to Tongariro soon, it looks awesome and is definitely on my agenda once I cross the Tasman. Your knitting is beautiful – re-learning to knit is on my list of things to do.

  13. I saw The Wool Company from the car when we went Ruapehu over Christmas, but I didn’t know it was a yarn producer! I hope next time I can convince the boy to stop and let me loose inside there…