Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Compulsion

13 Comments

It is relatively late, and I should probably be going to bed.  Instead, I’m sitting here knitting, and writing a post.  I’m tired, but not tired.   My body is tired, but my mind is still whizzing along at a million miles an hour.

When I feel anxious about a situation, the adrenalin kicks in, and it’s hard for me to “settle.”  In this situation, the best thing to do is knit.  The meditative process of methodical stitch after methodical stitch helps to calm the whirl going on in my head, forces me to sit down and breeeaaathe, and sorts out my thoughts so that I can approach a situation with more clarity.  And hopefully, I’ll relax enough so that I can get a few hours of good sleep tonight.

I knit at all times.  However, knitting to ‘calm’ has a compulsive quality to it.  It’s almost as if I have to work all that excess mental energy out into the knitting, and I can’t stop until it’s done…

And so,  I find myself on the picot bind-off row of  Wholehearted.  Finally, I feel the stillness that I’ve been craving since I got home this afternoon.

From what I can see so far, it isn’t a huge shawl.  It will be interesting to see how big it actually is after bind-off and blocking.  Scrunched-up stitches on a needle are often deceptive!

According to the pattern, the shawl is 57″ wide by 17″ deep after blocking.  That makes it a nice size for draping over the shoulders to keep the chill off on a cool evening.

Let’s see what this baby looks like tomorrow!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

13 thoughts on “Compulsion

  1. I’m sorry you’ve had an antsy evening, but it is good to know that there is something to help during those times. Hurrah for knitting! I’m excited to see your shawl and I hope it’s as big as you like when it’s all completed. Enjoy!
    ~Lacey

  2. I can relate. There is even an Oxford study about how knitting helps a person integrate ideas and calm down.

    You are DONE with the shawl!? lol. I just finally got it cast on and started. I look forward to seeing how yours turned out. 🙂

    • Wow – they did studies on that?? It’s true though!

    • I would love to see the paper from that study! I’m always trying to explain to people that knitting is zen, not painful or dull. I also keep a notebook handy when I’m knitting, because I seem to be a font of ideas when knitting. It lulls you into a rhythm that is stimulating AND calming. x

  3. I hope you managed to get those hours of good sleep.. and hope your shawl will turn out as you’d hoped/expected ! Kind of surprised you find knitting calming, when doing it at such speed… but then again, that must rule out any other thoughts… 😉
    Just out of curiosity; do you knit in complete silence or do you play some calming ( background ) music ? ( and does it afflict your knitting pace ? )

    • I tend to knit in whatever environment is happening in the house – there’s usually a TV going or a loud boy game happening… knitting blocks out the background noise, except when I get talked to, and am knitting lace… in which case absolutely no interruptions are required! One of these days I will get around to buying another stereo. Mine died a few years ago and I’ve never got around to replacing it.

  4. I hope you are asleep now….it is evening here….I guess you have the day off on Wednesday? Sleep in….

  5. Okay, it’s confirmed. We are sisters separated at birth. Work has been exhausting and as I drive home, I crave the few hours I’ll have after dinner to knit … and knit … and knit. It calms me like nothing else. In fact, dinner is on the stove now and I can hear my knitting calling me ever so softly.

  6. I know just what you mean! My knitting/crochet/spinning are my mediatation for the day 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing the reveal!

  7. Picot edging. Cripes, you’re whizzing right along. Is a second Wholehearted in the wings?
    My knitting time is pretty much whenever the mood hits, I’m very lucky in the respect.
    Your idea of having my journal right at hand is a dandy idea.
    While I have a notepad handy, that’s not the same as my journal. It’s now a must have handy AT ALL TIMES.

    Am still working the ‘broken rib’ portion. And lovin’ it! ! ! !

    hugs