Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Wholeheartedly complete

23 Comments

It’s done.  So cute!

The picot bind-off is an excellent way to keep a stretchy edge!

I love the aptly named marine colourway of the Flagstaff Alpaca’s variegated 4-ply.  It has a depth of shade and colour that does feel like I’m looking into the sea.  It’s mesmerizing.

The shawl is blocking now (not on the drying frame in case you’re wondering!), and has come out at the same dimensions as noted in the pattern.  It will be fine for the recipient – she’s smaller framed than I am.

For my version, I think I will play with adding a few more repeats and make a wider border before the picot bind-off.

I’ll post a modeled pic once it has finished drying.

Looking forward to seeing your versions!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

23 thoughts on “Wholeheartedly complete

  1. Wow!! It looks really brilliant. I love the colour of the blue, as you say, like looking into the sea. Hope all is well xx

  2. Yeah! Well done on the quick knitting!

  3. I love how that variegated yarn pooled just a little bit. It looks like rippling water.

  4. It turned out beautiful! And yes, I love the water effect. Congratulations! 🙂

  5. It is beautiful, now to start my own. A single colour one in a Joy of Yarn beauty.

  6. It looks great – I love the picot edge, what a good idea.

  7. Its beautiful! I think I am going to have to go thru my stash 🙂

  8. I think you win the award for first to the finish line of our KAL! Yours is beautiful – lovely colors and the texture looks luxurious.

  9. very pretty, great work!

  10. Oh wow, that is stunning! I love the soft halo of the yarn, and that blue colourway is gorgeous. Someone’s a lucky recipient!

    I never think of picot bind offs as being a way of getting a bit of extra stretch into an edge, perhaps I shouldn’t dismiss it so much!

  11. Beautiful!!!

  12. It turned out so beautiful. I really love your color choices.

  13. Wow, that’s gorgeous! I absolutely love it!

  14. This is luxury. Your Picot bo is beautiful.
    Each FO different from the next – yarn choices give each its own character.

    Love it ! ! !

    hugs

  15. that looks beautiful – I’m so impressed.

  16. Awesome colors and I can’t believe how fast you are!
    You did an amazing job and ended up with a gorgeous shawl! 😀

  17. Thanks to a nasty sinus thing over the weekend, I was “forced” to stay secluded in my room and knit;-)…finished Wholehearted except for about 4″ of the picot bindoff, where I ran out of yarn. Not too serious, as far as matching the dye lot, but do I want to spend the money on another full skein of Buffalo Wool for a few yards???? I think you know the answer to that one – I’ll buy enough to knit another shawl as well. The “Lux” was a laceweight and I had to add some pattern repeats to get the right measurements, but I love the way it looks! Very lacy and ruffly.

    • LOL. I thought you were going to say you ripped back a row to get the yarn for the picot! 😉 You’re obviously enjoying the buffalo. It sounds divine. Make sure you put your shawl on Ravlery so I can see it! Sorry to hear you weren’t too well though – hope you’re feeling better now.