Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The wool thing

17 Comments

Oh joyous skein of gorgeous yarn,

what is it about you that makes my heart sing “thumpety thump”?

Is it the sweet, sheepy scent of pure woolly goodness as I bury my nose in deep?

Is it that fascinating eye feast of lush tones and colour?

Is it that soft, warm squish and wholesome feel of pure, new wool?

Is it that you inspire a seeming myriad wondrous projects?

I sit and gaze

I stroke and squeeze

Abundant prettiness, you do so please!!

Inspiration:  Little Wool Co. 4 ply (fingering weight) pure wool

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

17 thoughts on “The wool thing

  1. Bliss only a knitter would know! Do you have anything in mind for this loveliness?

  2. Ooh, those colors are lovely! Spring time wrapped up into a skein… I hope you have delicious plans for it, although fondling will always suffice..

  3. I feel sorry for non-knitters who don’t know the bliss that is a new skein of yarn.
    Does the yarn color way have a name?

    • There’s a definite unique joy to holding a beautiful skein of yarn! It’s called “lime” on the label but I am not sure if it’s the right name as I’ve seen other lime skeins that are just pure green.

  4. I hear it calling me! What a lovely colourway ❤

  5. Beautiful 🙂 Thanks for your pretty little ditty!
    ~Lacey

  6. Poetry and beauty! Am almost wondering if some of us have a hereditary link to the smell of wool, one that speaks of comfort, warmth, and home. 🙂

  7. This makes perfect sense to me. Love the poetry!

  8. Gorgeous! Looking forward to seeing what you choose for that beautiful wool.

  9. I couldn’t be more in love with this colorway!

  10. These photos make my heart sing. So, so beautiful, and lovely words to go with. Thank you for sharing the yarny wonderment!

  11. Mmmm, Little Wool Co, my new favourite yarn-pusher… 🙂
    I haven’t got hold of any of the variegated colours yet. This one’s delightful!

  12. I’m finally catching up with my blog reader and spied this skein in your most recent post. It’s so beautiful! Looks like a monster skein too!

  13. Pingback: Wonders of Wool market day « Kiwiyarns Knits